Humans logo

Everyone for Themselves

Avoiding Racism by Celebrating Uniqueness

By Gary HaugerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Everyone for Themselves
Photo by James Eades on Unsplash

I guess I am on a bit of a roll at this point, writing things that maybe controversial to some, but really are fundamental things that should be in the hearts and minds of all of us humans on Earth. My views may not be the same as yours, and that is perfectly fine. The important thing is that when you compose your viewpoint and own it from beginning to end and at every point along the way, that you consider what you believe from every angle. Take time before you commit yourself to expressing your feelings, your hopes and dreams as you may be called to defend or explain them.

I am all for that challenge. Bring it on; daily. I think about my positions before I take them. I look at them critically with honesty and a genuine goal of understanding the whys behind my thoughts and beliefs. However, I will be the first to admit that I do not know everything, nor see everything from every angle, advantage or disadvantage and I have a fervent desire to be educated. Teach me what I do not know, so I may be better informed and have better judgement in my future decisions and endeavors.

That is the preamble, the set up for a discussion about racism. If you read my prior article you know my truth; Cis Hetero white middle-aged male, married, a father, fully employed and a tad geeky. So, what do I know about racism or discrimination? Very little, firsthand. However, I have been learning. Like I said in my article about Gender Identity and Personal Truth, since I don’t know it myself, I admit my perspective on the topic is different than those that experience discrimination, hatred, violence and more simply due to the collar of their skin. I would like to believe that I am not racist. I think most individuals with my “truth” i.e. label would claim they are not. It certainly may not be our conscious deeds, but it may still happen through our words and actions despite our best intentions. Because we are not perfect.

The key here is not to deny it is possible. The key is to be willing to be educated. To be fair and treat people like you would like to be treated. Don’t treat people equally, because in your heart of hearts you know you’d rather be treated better than equal. Extend that same dignity to others or better yet, simply recognize that the dignity is already there inherent in the individual and you have no place thinking you have granted it to them. That is patently false. Humans have dignity apart from their relationships with others. It is part of who we are.

It is pure hubris, thinking you are more privileged, more gifted, or in any way better than another human being. You may be in a position of more comfort, success (as you choose to count it) or any other metric but did you really begin in the same starting position in that comparison? Did you fear for your life when a police officer pulled you over for speeding? Did you fear being pulled out of your home and potentially raped, beaten or lynched? Or Arrested for merely using a public restroom or water fountain not designated for your “race”? These are things I have never feared, but they are a part of the lives and experiences of many of people around the world. People who are in no way lesser than anyone else. People who are gifted and exceptional but have been not been handed a clear path to their dreams.

Picture a marathon run on two courses, one is a smooth flat grade that runs the entire length of the race and the other has hills, hurdles, dense undergrowth and other hazards lying in wait around any corner.

The distance may be the same, but the race is very different. It is our obligation as human beings to see the struggles of our fellows and not sympathize with them or idolize them as both courses taste false on your tongue. It is far better to simply recognize the success of your fellows as well as the price paid to garner it since it may have been steeper than your own.

Do not cheapen the victories of others by claiming you have no advantages either, even if you do not see them. It is not about you. It is about recognizing the unique and special contribution every person makes despite, or perhaps, because of their obstacles.

In the final analysis, my conclusion is that the key is two fold – Recognize the unique contributions and struggles of your fellow humans, and treat people like you’d like to be treated so everyone gets better than they ever imagined. If we all could do this, there would soon be no more question of race or privilege.

I really hope that it is that simple and maybe someday everyone will see it is the truth.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.