Humans logo

Engraving Words Article 1! June 1st,2022!

My volunteer 1 yr challenge of writing Submissions for the Carnegie Newsletter! If you miss the Carnegie Newsletter that my work is published in rest assured you can always come here to find it after it`s initial posting there! :-) Thanks for reading my work and supporting what I`m advocating for, it is of course for us all to benefit from! Enjoy!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Crab Park: Official Designation of Tent City for the Homeless in the DTES!

Article 1:

Engraving Words!

Hi, Everyone!

I just wanted to introduce myself to the board members, staff and of course the surrounding community by sharing a very fitting poem written by me during my active using years here in the DTES back in my late 20’s to mid 30’s, before I ventured off to northern BC where I finally reached my clean date; May 3rd 2010! It’s also the year I left!

~ Welfare Day ~

Living in a dizzy array

there's so much on display

all the shelters where I've stayed,

so much can be said about all the people

the ones I've come to know.

Their stories shared along their paths

towards improvements,

Money spent

Sometimes it's clear what that’s meant

'Some event!' No place to rent,

They're hard to find, nothings for a dime,

something to afford, no more need be said.

Bed bugs a riot, they're everywhere

So not just anything will do

after just one has bit you.

Beware of what else might get you

despite what you're trying to do,

it's nothing new.

So it's been said a thousand times before,

knowing what's in store.

But hard times don't mean the end,

especially when you've got some friends,

A show of strength; ones fortitude

a determination to get through to someplace better,

Someplace new.

A room with a view, something good has come your way,

This time around,

Finally, on

Welfare day!

I never intended to be gone so long, but I have now returned, arriving back on May 1st 2022 and celebrating my 12 yrs clean HERE in the DTES with ALL OF YOU on May 3rd 2022! You can be certain you will get to learn more about me and read a lot more of my work as the year ahead unfolds!

So now with that being said I am ready to get down to business, with my mission in my return to B.C. and of course most specifically here in Vancity and the DTES. I’m back to make a difference, to help improve upon matters that need advocacy, voicing, support and organizing, to see that these over-do changes are met and do reach our Nation’s Capital, our Countries' Parliament and are ultimately achieved! Ergo the inspiration for my (Engraving Words) writing segment here in the Carnegie Newsletter!

Thus bringing me to my first mission of activism and support for BC, which is the Petition of increasing the PWD benefits; as well as the amount of earnings a person can have and claim without penalty! Once this Provincial change is met, it is my hope to tie it together with my other path of advocacy from my time in Ontario which is ENDING WELFARE ALL TOGETHER! Creating instead a BASIC INCOME for ALL in need: to live being treated respectfully, fairly and live with decency, to allow for a life where people can afford their rents and living needs and be a productive part of society and the economy! Though this goal may still be a way off, I will remain goal oriented and focused on the shining light of the times ahead when this too is achieved here in Canada and Universally as well!

I lost a friend of mine who was approved to be a part of the first ever pilot project for Basic Income in Ontario. He was a key player and a very important part of the fight with Parliament regarding Basic Income and our human rights! Along my journey with his story a part of my life and what I’m now doing, I will speak more about it in future issues down the line as those matters fit the timing and information needed! The tragedy of Doug Ford taking office as the Premier of the Province and what happened to Michael because of it, has made this mission much more personal and meaningful for me now more than ever! So it all starts here in BC with helping to achieve that FIRST STEP of success in increasing PWD income & earnings, towards that Canada Wide End Goal of mine to one day finally see Basic Income and rights in place for everyone!

Increasing the PWD benefits, requires fighting fire with fire, involving my need to return here and fight alongside with all of you in this battle from home (B.C.) in seeing this through! So here I am folks, and as someone I once spoke to about it all said before me… “I’M IN IT FOR THE LONG HAUL!” So you better believe we are going to get it done right and hopefully by the end of this 2022 year! :-)

The links to all the information you need to know about and what has already taken place and been established publicly online are as follows:

1. https://www.bcdisability.com/pwd I do encourage you all to read everything written there to find out how you can sign your name to the letter already available there and the list of parliamentary leaders you can send that letter in email too. You can also learn more about what Spencer has to say and offer as well.

2. https://www.change.org/p/raise-bc-s-pwd-rates-to-1800-a-month This is where you can go to sign the petition itself, the first goal of reaching 1000 people has almost been met. So please help the petition FINISH reaching its first goal! From there a NEW MARK for signatures can be set for continued support in the times ahead! As the old saying goes regarding such a matter as this of course, is… “The More The Merrier!” :-)

In closing if all goes well for me according to my desired plans, I will be setting up tables and times in different places, like community centers and libraries where people can come sign up in person if they are not interested in sharing their information online or have no other options or opportunities in which they can participate and support. So keep your eyes & ears open for more information, as I will let you all know what’s happening from here through my published Engraving words articles!

I look forward to community interaction and contact with readers as I move ahead with my 2022 missions and participation with the Carnegie Newsletter and more. I welcome emails, and letters from people, you can send your mail to the Carnegie NewsRoom and send your emails to: [email protected] or you can email me directly at: [email protected] Please DO let me know more about what topics, thoughts, poetry, stories, etc… you all want to see written about and discussed or the work and matters that you yourselves would like to share? I will do my best to try and read and reply to each and every one of you, so long as time and opportunity will allow!

Thank-You and God Bless!

Stay Well & Stay Strong!

Sincerely,

The Writer!

Jennifer Cooley!

www.futureproductionsonline.com

www.facebook.com/isuperwoman

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.