Humans logo

Embrace Life!

Taking in the Moment

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A New Episode

I don’t always write in this space like I would a blog. Instead, I prefer to share the short stories I create along with art that inspires me. However, today I wanted to try something different and explain what I have reluctantly learned over the past several months. I love reading other people's stories, especially when it comes from a vulnerable place, so I hope maybe the next couple paragraphs can touch you in some way.

My life has been crazy busy with changes in my work schedule, adjustments in my personal life, and other unexpected surprises. I don’t mind unpredictability, but there are some days that I am not sure which way is up. Consistent imbalance like this often leads me to second guess everything I do, even if it is as simple as choosing which flavor of coffee to make. Among all this commotion, my favorite time is still the weekend, when I try to enjoy catching up with friends, reading, writing, and drawing.

But you know what? Life can’t always be full of weekends.

A Study in Self-Care

I recently pulled a muscle in my left leg, which caused me to drop out of a race I had planned and has also inhibited my daily running exercise. I have a goal set for the year, which I should still meet, but it has greatly inhibited my momentum. I didn’t realize until a couple days ago after my first normal run in about two weeks how much I miss the experience of running. I’ve still been walking some and doing a lot of stretching, but nothing compares to hitting the pavement on a daily basis. Up until now I’ve been very consistent in my exercise over the last several months.

It is easy for me to spout to others about self-care, but VERY difficult for me to implement it myself! From what I’ve read, the best cure for an injury is rest, but taking a break is not something that comes naturally.

A Peek into Thankfulness

It is creeping into November, which is often considered the month of thankfulness, with Thanksgiving dropped right in the middle of these chaotic days. Similar to my resting routines, my thankfulness routine has gone by the wayside. It is amazing how much better a day I have if I simply take a breath and remember:

  • I am thankful for my job
  • I am thankful that I can walk
  • I am thankful for nature

Even things as simple as this allows me to stop, assess, and realize it is all going to be okay. If I don’t finish everything (I’m cringing here!) the world will not end. I merely need to take everything one day at a time.

A Night to Remember

Right now there is nothing that I can do about my crazy schedule that is my livelihood, my daily work. I remind myself that I need to work to make money for rent and all the other necessities of being an adult (at least right now!). I still hold out hope that one day I can quit everything, hike the Appalachian Trail, and write a novel!

This just isn't that time.

So you know what I did tonight? I made myself a sandwich, finished a show, worked on my cathartic paint-by-numbers, and listened to a writing podcast. This is what I enjoy. It's okay to stop and savor the small moments, even if they don't seem to add up to anything big or life-shattering.

Just a Thought

It’s a simple concept, but something that I am slowly learning in this moment of forced restfulness.

It is okay to stop and breathe.

And I must remember to breathe and take in the moment!

This moment is all we have.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.