Humans logo

Early Bird Get's The Worm

Why waking up early will boost productivity

By Sean PeckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Early Bird Get's The Worm
Photo by Moritz Kindler on Unsplash

No matter how much we try, it can be impossible to get out of bed sometimes. Why should I have to go to work when I can just sleep on my comfy bed with the amazing soft pillows that make me feel like I’m floating in heaven. What you may not know, waking up earlier than usual will cause your brain to make you more productive.

I used to hate waking up early. I loved the weekends because that gave me an excuse to sleep at a time like 3 or 4 in the morning. Was it a bad habit? Absolutely, but I had a fun time staying up that late.

Recently, I decided to challenge myself to wake up every day at 7 in the morning so I can be more productive with my time. The day after, in the morning I wake up, I snoozed my alarm and overslept. That day I learned, waking up early is easier said than done.

Never sacrifice sleep. If you’re the type of person who’s a night owl and can’t physically go to sleep until really late, stick to your regular sleep schedule. Sacrificing sleep will lead to nothing but trouble.

It’s best to get at least 7 hours of sleep a night. Anything below that and you have a problem.

The Side Effects of cutting off sleep:

Sleep deprivation

Moodiness

Anxiety

Higher blood pressure

More stress

Why you should wake up early

Believe it or not, waking up earlier than you usually would like gives you a good amount of benefits (and science confirms it).

“Go to bed early and wake up early. The morning hours are good”

-Jeff Bezos

You’re damn right Jeff.

4 BENEFITS

Distractions are removed

Not a lot of people choose to set an alarm for themselves and force themselves to wake up early unless it’s for going to a job. For someone who gets distracted really easily, I tend to lose focus by the distractions around me, and waking up earlier gives me an extra 3–4 hours for myself to do whatever I need.

Your career will turn out more successful

I love watching podcasts and interviews with famous writers, artists, and actors. It gives me a sort of connection to whoever is getting interviewed because they show they are just regular people.

Waking up early will manage to keep you more well-organized. It’s perfect to start doing strategic thinking and planning as soon as you wake up and wash your face.

Many successful people all have something in common. Besides being successful, they all tend to wake up early. Don’t believe me? Check out this article “10 Successful People Who Wake Up Early”.

More Energy and happiness

When you first wake up, you contain the benefits of many good habits. It leads you to an energetic feeling and an all-around healthy you.

Morning people can get so much done in the span of 24 hours. As long as they are getting 7 hours of sleep, gives you the biggest head start to the day.

With all the energy consumed in you after waking up, I recommend doing some at-home workouts such as situps and pushups to give you the feeling that your making progress with all the free time you have.

It’s best to give yourself the habit of waking up early. Try and set a journal for yourself for how many mornings you successfully woke up early. It’s okay to miss a couple of days, it’s bound to happen but the more consistent you are with waking up early, the more your body will get used to waking up at the specific time you set

Prevents Procrastinating

I hate procrastinating.

It’s like you have no control over it. Procrastination is like the devil controlling your actions and movement

What Is Procrastinating?

Procrastination is defined as the action of delaying or postponing something.

Psychologists have identified a large number of reasons why people procrastinate. It’s usually because of a lack of clear goals and unpleasant tasks. The biggest reason is that people are afraid of failure and will do anything to prevent it.

When you wake up early, your brain is a lot more focused causing the little procrastination devil in your mind to be extinct. Take advantage of that because it won’t last all day. Most people would usually have an energy drink or make themselves some coffee which is perfectly okay but doesn’t overdo it or do it late at night because if that were to happen, it would be impossible for you to get a good night's rest.

Use these tips and wake up early tommorow, don't hit that snooze button either no matter how punchable it looks.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sean Peck

Online entrepreneur with a passion on business, social media marketing, music, and media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.