Humans logo

Dragging baggage

Cut yo losses

By aysha valenzuelaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

A good deed, well to go on with this story, we must understand what it means to you or I. Now to me a good deed is a positive vibration with genuine intentions, with absolutely no expectations. There are many reasons why people do good deeds. Weather it be for self gain, or intuition just took the wheel. They always seem to make us feel better in some way shape or form. It is expectations that make us regret or feel hurt. I have learned to give only when genuine never give if you feel obligated. I’ve been homeless, hopeless,and just in a bad pickle, many times. I have learned that the people who have more to share will never be as genuine as those who don’t have much. I’ve come to the conclusion that these people that empathize with you will give you the shirt from their backs. I remember being homeless gathering the strength to make the call to my mom to get me a bus ticket. That happened then next thing I knew I’m hauling a broken heavy ass bag full of clothes, dragging it though downtown Denver. Not one Calpable man even bothered to help me. That is until this, what looked like to be a homeless man with missing teeth stopped me and asked if he could help. Mind you this bag is extremely heavy, so it would be really hard to steal without a radio flyer wagon. Now that I think of it, it was only clothes I should have cut ties. I was hauling a heavy load of bullshit. Anyways this man knew where the bus station was and helped me. We took many cig breaks, on one of our breaks. He told me something completely inciteful. He said “a tree has a lot of different leaves right. They come they go and up comes more. These are the Acquaintances you have in your life. Then you have the branches and they will hang onto you and stick on you and they’ll keep you from growing but then want to stay on you and keep you from growing.” “You have to cut them off in order to grow stronger and better. The only thing that you need is a great pair of roots that’s all that matters that’s what’s going to keep you alive. Give you the strength to keep going, keep living.” As I walked with this man I remember feeling like an asshole because My first thought was he’s going to try to jack me. Instead this man shared his wisdom and helped me out carrying my heavy baggage (I should’ve cut that shit off along time ago). When we got to the bus stop finally he asked me when was the last time that I ate I couldn’t remember. He opened up his wallet he had five dollars in there and he gave it to me he said go eat. This man mentioned he had a crack habit and did not have a stable home to live in so that five dollars to me meant like 1 million. Those words have never left my life they just resognate a lot more now than they did at the time they were told to me. I have been blessed to have met these wonderful people I keep writing about (I could be more blessed if I won this challenge jk). My gratitude is overfilling my heart as I think of it. The money was not even compared to the great deed he did for me that day. I mean who wants to help carry a homeless woman’s old broken heavy baggage, then feed her. I would have told her what are you doing dragging all that shit around. I probably would not tell her that, but if I could go back I’d tell me that and I would say this. Let it go, it’s only stuff, don’t worry you will get more, trust.

humanity
2

About the Creator

aysha valenzuela

Hello I live in the desert hiding in the shade from the beautiful powerful sun in az. I’ve lived all over southwest I dig experiences meeting new peeps and music is life. I am a nomad,I go where the wind takes me I’mhoping it blows me east.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.