Humans logo

Done In Secret

Paying it Forward

By Connie SahlinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Done in Secret

She was a quiet girl, one you would hardly notice unless she bumped into you. Her hair was brown as were her eyes. She was average build, around 5’ 4” and 130 pounds. She was kind of plain, as she didn’t wear makeup or do her hair. It was just long and stringy. Her clothing kinda blended into the room as well. So why do I tell you about her? She had a big heart. You wouldn’t think it by looking at her. Most never saw her deeds. She didn’t do it for the attention, she did it because she truly cared for others. This story is in her honor.

I was sitting in a cafe the first time I noticed her. I don’t know her name so I will call her Grace. She was in line when a woman came in who was obviously in a hurry. She told the woman she could take her spot. The woman was grateful. Then it was Grace’s turn to order. She had seen a homeless woman a few blocks down (as she recanted to the cashier) and it was very cold out. She herself didn’t drink coffee but wanted to order some for the homeless woman. The cashier helped her with choosing one. She also ordered some hot soup for her. When the cashier turned to get her coffee, she put in what looked like $5 into the tip jar. He didn’t notice and she seemed to want it that way. She left with a smile on her face. Not a big smile, but one of contentment.

The next time I came across Grace, she was taking bags of food and clothing out of her trunk and giving them to some people in a homeless camp at the park. I was riding my bike along the park where they were camped at. They seemed very grateful and one person acted as if they knew her, as if she had done this before.

I saw her at the grocery store in the check out. I was a couple of people behind her. The old man who was in front of her was short a few dollars. She quickly interrupted as he was looking at the few things he had and trying to decide what he didn’t need. Here, she said handing the cashier the money needed. The old man took her hand and said “thank you so much, you have no idea what this means to me.” She told him then that someone had helped her in the past and she was just paying it forward. Was that one good deed her motivation to help others? Is that how a little pebble can change the world?

I decided to learn from this quiet unassuming person and do what I could too. When I got home I looked at all the things I had that I didn’t need. I had so many clothes and shoes, while I would see people on the streets with no shoes or holes in them. I talked to my friends about getting what they didn’t need anymore too. I also took the extra blankets and towels as well. I even put a few dollars in some of the pockets. I wanted to make sure that at least for a moment the person who got them would have a reason to smile. In the town I live in we have many homeless comaps, so I found a different one to bring things to.

So the ripple from the pebble that Grace through is growing that much bigger. Yet it was because of the one person who took a moment to help her, that she inspired me. Now I try to keep a backpack or two in my car filled with a coat or sweater, socks, and some food, toothbrush and anything else I can pick up to put in. But like Grace, I try not to be too noticed. As I am doing it to help others, not stroke my ego.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Connie Sahlin

I am new to writing, at least for others to read. I hope that you will like some of what I write.

I am starting the next chapter of my life and putting myself out of my comfort zone, this is part of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.