Humans logo

Don't Find Someone to Grow Old with

Find someone who keeps you young.

By Michelle SchultzPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

When we were little we watched TV shows like the Brady Bunch and pictured the perfect life. The perfect tall, handsome husband with a full time job, who came home every night on time and the wife would have dinner waiting on the table, a few kids that they had planned on having, the mom is in the PTA and always baking. Date nights are scheduled. The kids love the babysitter. Husband and wife grow old together. Everything is perfect....but is it really?

As we've grown up, a lot of us have re-imagined that life. The scenario isn't all the same. Some people don't want kids. Some people want to be a stay at home dad or a working mom. Some people want their partner to be completely career driven like them. It isn't so "1950s lifestyle" anymore. But, one thing remains the same; most people want someone they can grow old with. I don't.

Don't get me wrong, I would love to have someone by my side for the rest of my life. But I would rather have someone who will keep me young. I don't want to marry the boy who is going to engage in polite sex with me once a week after we put our kids to bed. I want to marry the boy who is going to look at me with my hair a mess and try for a quickie with me in the bathroom while the chicken nuggets are cooking and the kids are distracted by cartoons.

It's not just about the sex though. I want someone who still wants to go on adventures with me when we're old. I don't want the guy who goes out drinking with his buddies once a week and stays with the kids while I go out with my friends. I want the best friend relationship where we hire a sitter and we both go get hammered together at the new bar in town and make complete fools of ourselves. I don't want to come home and tell him about the crazy time I had with my friends. I want to gossip about the crazy time we had with our friends the night before. I mean, he can still go out with his friends, I'm not opposed to that. Everyone needs their own time. However, when you're with your best friend, it shouldn't feel like you're on a leash. I want to go out with the man I marry and cause mayhem together.

I want someone I can fight with. That sounds dumb, but hear me out. I want someone that I can look at and tell them they're wrong and they will get into a full blown argument with me just for the sake of arguing. I want to be able to yell and scream and act crazy and not worry about what my significant other will think of me doing this. They'll just argue back. You can't go out into the world and yell and start arguments with people. I mean you can, but it's very frowned upon and you'll probably wind up fired or in jail. I want someone who, when I've had a bad day, I can pick a fight with them and I know later, it will be okay. They'll understand my childish need to argue over nothing because it's just a stress release. We won't have to have some big conversation later about it. We'll argue like children and then come back later and just shrug it off.

A while back, I was at a birthday party for one of my friends and she got super embarrassed because her dad wouldn't stop hitting on her mom. They were flirty and embarrassing to her, but I remember thinking that I hope one day my husband treats me like that. I want to be the embarrassing parents. The parents who can't help but flirt with each other at school functions and birthday parties.

Growing up is...let's be honest, it's awful. You get more responsibilities and you're expected to act way more proper. Love shouldn't be like that. Love should make you feel like you're 18 all the time. Even when you're 50. Who doesn't like making out like a couple of teenagers? Or that feeling you get when you know someone is checking you out? Or the thrill of just hanging out with your crush and doing stupid random things that made no sense, but they were fun because you were with them? Obviously, it can't be all fun and games but even in the serious moments it should be easy. It should be like your first relationship—before you were ever hurt. Trusting, easy, and fun. You talk about everything and being with them makes even the worst situations not so bad. I don't want someone to grow old with. I want someone who keeps me young.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.