Humans logo

Discovery and Interview With 21 year Old Smudge Artiste, Promise Jude

The Rising Star Series.

By Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Not too long ago, I received a friend request on Facebook from a young man named Promise Jude and, even though I hardly ever accept social media invitations from strangers I was inclined to look into his profile because he shares the same name with my twin brother Jude.

I am glad that I obeyed my sentiment because the talent that I discovered blew my mind and I had to share it with the world in whatever way I can by reason of this posting.

Promise Jude lives in Port Harcourt, Rivers State in Nigeria and is a 3rd year student at the Michael Opara University, Umudike, Abia State in Nigeria. He specializes in Smudge Art.

He was gracious enough to answer some of the questions I had to ask about the work he does;

Cathy: Thank you so much for taking out some time to chat with me about what you do. Why Do You Make This Type of Art?

Promise Jude: I wanted something unique, I've never been a fan of trends. I always want to stand out positively both in the way I dress or present my work.

And I'm aware Smudge Painting is not as popular as other Artwork (where you use pencil, charcoal or real color.

And that's why I love it. I want to be able to give pictures a new look by making amazing smudge paintings-To be able to bring that imaginary look of a person to a real image. You'll never know how cute you can be if you happened to be in a comic book /cartoon character

I care about the memories I create for people.

Cathy: What Does Your Artwork Represent?

Promise Jude: It represents God's perfection

Cathy: What Inspires You?

Promise Jude: My family inspire me- especially my mom. I just to want to make my parents proud and so they will forget all they had to go through so I can survive. Plus, I want my generation to be proud to have me

Also, customers satisfaction; I always use the best quality of frames for my clients because I feel it makes me outstanding and different. I always beat my delivery time and I never disappoint. And this is because the money motivates me here. I tend to believe if I don't clear these jobs and deliver, then more won’t come. And as a student in the university, I need this money for some of my daily upkeep.

Cathy: How Do You Make Your Paintings?

Promise Jude: I simply use my Laptop. Most people don't know that. Some think it's real paintings and that makes me to put more effort not to disappoint them by at least giving them the best or at least making it a preferred choice to those that know the difference. I use Photoshop software. Some other artists would use Autodesk Sketchbook… There're different tools to choose from in the system but I use my pen tool, oil paint, my smudge filter, my colors and highlights and lots more just to give my clients the best quality they deserve. Having the creativity matters a lot too.

It takes me 3hours plus depending on the picture if I'm consistent on the image it can be faster.

Cathy: What Does Your Art Mean to You?

Promise Jude: A Sign of Hope that I can be anything God wants me to be.

A sign of Hope and Purpose.

You can follow Promise on Instagram @judyphotoworks to get all the information you need to place your own order of his work.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh

Bio:

Cathy Ben-Ameh has published two books; "The Impact of Music Streaming on The Music Industry: Case study-Spotify" and "'13- A Chapbook of 13 Short Poems". https://linktr.ee/cathybenameh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.