Humans logo

Crushes

We all get them, on people we know, people we don't, and celebrities, but is it okay?

By Carol TownendPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
2
Photo via Pixabay

We all get crushes on people we know, people we don't, be it celebrities or professionals, but is this okay? I think it depends on an individual opinion, values, and beliefs. The saying, "You can look but not touch," is true, especially if you're taken, but then if you're not, that depends on your views, morals, and beliefs.

Have you ever sat down, listened to a favourite singer sing, watched him on television, and thought, "Yeah, he is gorgeous?" The next thing you have pictures, posters, music—everything to do with him becomes fascinating. This can be healthy, bring a smile to our faces, and make us feel good within reason. It's those words "within reason" that counts. You see people on social media blowing kisses, sending flirty hearts, kisses, and making flirty comments. I do it too. I'm naturally this way with people though too, including women as I like both, but I know how far to go—and I try to stay in control too.

I am going to see a concert by a celebrity crush soon, and this will be my first time doing so. I am excited, but that doesn't mean I'm going to swim off into the moonlight with him. (I wish!) It just means I'm having feel-good feelings about finally seeing this person whose songs and TV personality sent my brain into overdrive. In fact, I can't go a day without listening to this celebrity's music, and when he comes on television, then it is mine! I have signed pictures framed on my double doors too, the CDs, the mug, and the t-shirt. Some might say this is overboard, however, for me it is normal. I am a big music fan and I like to find out about the artists behind the music and interact with them on social media. It adds a personal touch to my experience.

The main thing for me (and this is something that makes me giggle) is every time my favourite song by this celebrity comes on, it causes a butterfly effect in my stomach, pulling me straight to the dance floor. I am known for dancing, but I know I have a crush when that happens.

People say to have a "crush," you need to know the person personally and be intimate with them. To me, that would be falling in love and not a crush. You don't need to know a person or be intimate to have a crush; you can crush on looks, a voice, the way someone dances, a body, and many things. A crush can become obsessive sometimes, to a point where you're thinking about it all day—some people get like this. However, I can still do other things, and I do those better when listening to his music. I talk a lot about him, but if it's deep, as a rule, it's in a private message.

The question that gets debated is: "Is it okay to have a crush?" Well, my advice is as long as you're not obsessively stalking and letting important things slip, or taking it to extremes. Then yes, it is. We all get them, it is natural and normal. As long as you can control it without harassing, then go with it; if it makes you feel happy and motivates you in a healthy way, then that is good. People tell me I should tell my favourite celebrity about my crush? I don't think I could, and I think some things should be kept to myself, which is why I've not given any names here.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.