Humans logo

Covid-19 Adventures

A fresh start

By Lorne VanderwoudePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
This is a picture of my third book.

I am an author of four books that have not succeeded in terms of book sales. I published my first book in 2013, a fiction book written in the first person of a resident in long-term care who used to be a nurse's aide. My feelings were hurt when a family member called my writing "trash" I gave my book to my dad as a gift. I was trying to get book sales, so I put a little bit of sexual content into it. This book was titled "The RSA Adventure-The untold story now revealed" This book really flopped sales of the book did not do as well as I thought that the sales should have been.

I wrote a sequel to this book, titled "The College Adventure-The web which we weave" In this book, I spent over four thousand dollars. I also had an investor who I thought would help me succeed. This book had art from a local artist. I paid him for the work he did on this book. Again, my family called my writing a lot of trash, and I felt furious and let down.

Then I thought that I would write the best doctrinal book to explain my view on Christian doctrine and why there are so many doctrines in the world. I only spent one-third of the money which I had spent on the book before this one. Again, my family called my doctrinal book not worthy of being read.

After that I thought, I would write my life story. I thought this would be a great winner. Then my family said that the book was full of spelling errors and grammar errors. I was ordered to stop wasting they felt that the publisher had done a poor job and just took my money. I do take it that they felt that my writing was not that good. I remember my dad mumbling that "No wonder you never have any money."

I decided that it was time to have an author review done on two of my books. The book, "The life and times of Lorne W.P Vanderwoude-The truth is stranger than fiction," scored a 2 out of four stars while the "College Adventure- The web we weave" scored 1 star out of four stars. The reviewer who did my first review marked the book down by two stars because it should have been focused on my wife, who is my best friend. My wife is a very private person who did not appreciate our so-called private life to be made so public. I was trying to be sensitive to her need to be private. I focused on other relationships ending with our relationship the best in the entire end. This shows the reader that sometimes in life, we can learn from all of our mistakes, leading to a home run. My second book review pointed out that the book was disjointed, and if you like a lot of soap-like drama, the book was pretty good in that way. This book was a complete let down because I paid for a content edit of the book, which was not very good. I spent over $1,000.00 on this content edit, which was, in my view and others, was done very poorly.

I have found that the less which I have depended on editors, the more high writing quality has come out of my own fingers. I should have given myself for being able with the help of a grammar program to produce a high level of writing. I will write again; however, I have a better plan for my writing hobby.

My dad passed away on December 15 of last year. I decided on my very own grammar program and then started to write another book. The publisher will not edit this book when it is published. I will instead put my money into more promoting this book. I am not going to include my family when I release this book into the market. I will be raising the money before I sign another publishing deal. I am making a new start when it comes to my writing hobby.

I am working on my fifth book, which will cover my memories of my parents. This way, I will not be covering too much of our private lives here in the present and focus on my life in the past with my parents. I have many memories of my childhood, which will be enough material to keep my readers entertained for hours upon hours.

I have learned the hard way that paying other people to do the hard work for you is not the correct way if you desire to be very successful. I am a very busy person, so this was not because I was sluggish. I have a hectic schedule to keep and a relationship I always need to be very successful. I have realized that writing is just one part of my life where I can express myself to the world and have a legacy to last way after I have crossed over to be in Heaven with everyone I have held dear during my lifetime.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lorne Vanderwoude

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.