Humans logo

Complexities of Relationships Short Skit

Communications Middle Ground

By Zachary PiercePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

It hit me right in the middle of my inner voice formulating the validity of my point. For a moment it was as if the consciousness of my mind disassociated from reality. The noise around me faded out and the argument I was having with my significant other sank into the background. I was taken back by a sense of familiarity and a voice like my own that reminded me of something important.

"What are we doing?" I knew right away that it was referring to me and my significant other. I could feel the implication behind it. Why are we arguing? I remember what it was about, but is it so important to have the last word that it outweighs everything we have built together? Has the nature of my love changed to this petty cause of who is right and who is wrong?

I felt myself take in a breath and with the exhale I felt myself return to the argument. Across the kitchen from me stood the person I knew I loved the most but this time with more wholeness than I've had in maybe a couple of weeks.

"I don't know what else I am supposed to do!" Was the ending statement I came back to.

There is nothing to gain in arguing so I must choose my words carefully. Ending the argument abruptly will invalidate everything they were saying. The silence is deafening but the tension makes my ears ring. Their eyes are looking to me for some sort of reply but really the moment demands fuel for the fire. So, we put out the fire and focus on what matters after.

My mouth opened and like a flood gate the words poured out, dousing the flames. "I am sorry." I said, not knowing what to expect. I didn't even choose those words, but I knew they were the right ones.

Both of us were at a loss of words. Just a couple of idiots standing at opposite ends of a kitchen staring at each other. The recipient of the apology remained shocked. I don't blame them; it was not only unexpected, but the argument dissipated without protest.

"I don't really know what to say." Was the reply. It wasn't accepting of the apology but then again, it wasn't really an apology as it was a statement interjected into an argument. There needed to be closure. On the other hand, perhaps that person standing on the other side of the kitchen knew where I was coming from.

"I don't want this to be the way we talk to each other." Did that come out right? There must be a better way to express what I mean. I felt a lump in my throat.

The love of my life gave pause and swallowed. "You're right." Tension eased as we both leaned against the counters, emotional turmoil spilling over. "I'm sorry too."

I wanted another shot at my earlier statement. "Our communication is aggressive when we want to be nurturing but can't see eye to eye and it’s hurting us." Nailed it?

An immediate response shot out from the person across the kitchen. "I feel the same way." A half smile gave light to the situation.

I wasn't sure if I provided the right closure. "I hope you can forgive me." I said.

That nurturing voice returned to me. "I will always be willing to forgive you." Not the voice of anger or sorrow but that voice of understanding. "I know you already forgave me, and I never had to ask for it."

It felt great that there was this understanding that we were still in it for each other. Of course! Neither of us would ever have to ask for forgiveness, though out of pure sentiment we voice it anyway. There was still a lingering sensation of an incomplete quest. Though we were talking it out, for me, there was still this void. Unsure of where to go next, I stood there, silent and clueless.

Their voice answered the internal call of crisis. "I also realize that this was never about forgiveness." My void shifted when I heard it and they had more to say. "We should be doing this together, not divided."

That was it! Those statements wrapped around me like a warm blanket during movie night. I realized that the problem was that I need closure also. There was importance behind the vocal recognition of what I was trying to portray. Just like the sentiment behind vocalizing forgiveness despite it being a prerequisite of a loving relationship.

I felt like an old favorite book that was remembered and pulled off the shelf for another long-awaited read. The best part about the book is that two beloved characters can once again be found on the same chapter, in the contents of the same page, along the same line, at the stroke of the first word on the continuing sentence following an obstacle that we had to overcome.

The victory was ever so sweet. The empty space between us in a kitchen that served as place to settle differences before serving yourself large unhealthy helpings of your own feelings, was now just empty space surrounding us. We melted into each other’s arms and mashed our faces together. It was our way of toasting to a new understanding that right or wrong, we no longer settle on calling each other out. Instead, we understand the perspective of the other and conquer the obstacle together.

"It's your turn to do the dishes."

Of course, there are other obstacles to work through.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.