Humans logo

Communication is key to stopping a cycle of violence

Silence Brings Violence Communication is key! SPEAK UP!

By David CombsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5

November 2nd, 2016 exactly one year 79 days since my older brother's life was taken over a half-ounce of weed. I turned 18 six months in May earlier that year. Just bought my first new vehicle, quit my job to go back to high school, got a lady and good friend with me. Life was decent, reacted in a positive way to my brother's passing. Setting a great example for my family. Now the NBL world series is on and it is Chicago Cubs VS Cleveland Indians Top of the 9th game 7 tied up 6-6… Not even a big baseball fan but this legendary game and moment in sports so got my interest. Chicago hasn't won a World Series in 108 years, and they have their chance for some big swings. The pitcher hit many fouls, the first batter walked to first base. Then all of a sudden the softest, the quietest knock happens at my front door. Chicago Cubs' reputation was on the line, just as much as my life...

As I approach my front door walking out of the living room after such a sketchy and soft knock. I open it, a fellow I don't necessarily respect was standing there with another guy I know decently had no problem with him. The other guy was recently released from prison and was cellmates with one of the guys involved in my brother's recent death. Multiple birds told me about him opening his mouth even talked about my late brother negatively way, since I had company along with my toddler niece remind myself I set the example here. Just kept on telling them to leave get off my porch. They're asking why do I have a problem, trying to bargain could tell they were on some drugs. My buddy approached the front door, then they walked off my porch and down the stairs one of them stated something under their breath my buddy followed them down continued the situation took his hat off his head. The fellow I had no problem with was upset approached my buddy as if he wanted to fight him then changed his body language…

Cleveland Indians now in the offense. The bottom of the 9th tied up and could not get the job done. In the 10th inning, everything on the line just got to make the right swing at the right time as the rain starts to pour down causing a delay in their game, putting everything on pause. In my own10th inning as well rain was falling on my life causing a delay in my life. Everything in my life pauses.

The moment before he changed his body language, my buddy handing me the hat. When my buddy realized he pulled a box cutter out of his pocket wanting his hat back started charging towards him full of anger, yelling about it. Of course, I was in possession of the hat, my buddy pointed my way he started moving quickly towards me… Fight of flight at this point figured if I could just make the right swing at the right time, Hit him hard enough he will drop the box cutter. Well, I connected but not good enough ended up being a fight my buddy jumped in trying to avoid the knife most we can. the guy who talked negatively about my brother, at this point ran down the street crying.

I walked away ended up with 4 wounds 175 stitches. buddy got slice twice almost passed out because of constant bleeding, lost a lot of blood. they did get caught blocks away on a busy street with lots of blood on him.

Due to the rain delay that causes 2o minutes of anxiously waiting, ended playing the last minutes allowing me and my buddy to watch the end of the world series in our separate hospital rooms. Still alive breathing well with lots of blood and the Chicago Cubs won their first title in 108 years.

What did I do about it? Well got the right swing at the right time at him a year later at a party. Made me feel better at the time but not for long can't feel great when you lose sight of who you once were. Setting an example to replying to violence with violence, not the right action to make. Seen him at a bar. On multiple occasions, I was rude in a douchebag way. One time he walked away came back in 2 minutes did a full apology taking responsibility knowing what he did was wrong was sober had a nice car and a house with a good woman changed his life around haven't looked back since until now

I accepted it and gave one back. It may not seem that his apology was one of the greatest things ever given to me EVER not only that but taking responsibility for his actions but did not want to be that guy anymore. Now is someone who wants to good by others not let a small phase with a drug change his life around. Being the man he did knowing it was wrong addressing me wanting to communicate was amazing.

I think my apology and forgiveness could have helped him be at more peace. All things considered, it let him live happier in the sense of the weight he had once carried on his shoulders. We still chat when we see each other now and then. Notice the type of positive energy he has and big smile still has his nice car nice place stays consistent. Still, I'm glad to see an evolved human being just living happy someone who messed up in the past and refused to let the system get ahold of him.

The greatest deed I have ever received was that apology, and know deep in my heart that was one of the best he has ever received. letting go of the past moving on 2 men living better lives 2 EVOLVED MEN. Stopped a lot of pain from inflicting on our loved ones. Could have responded with worse violence yet still refused, took the time to converse with each other. never know what the results are unless you try! Go Cubs!

Thank you guys for giving this a read. Based on a true story. Leave a like and share! I welcome feedback as well feel free to email me or follow me on instagram! Email: [email protected]. Instagram: Davidcombs28



humanity
5

About the Creator

David Combs

Since I was a child my older cousins rapped freestyle rap as well.

I always wrote down what just rapped and never rapped with a beat playing always wrote complex rhymes always felt like w as putting my talent in the wrong place now im

not!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.