Humans logo

Coming of "R"age

What the fuck is going on?

By C HumePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I'm in my mid twenties and I am mad.

When I was younger I was always told that your twenties are going to be the best years ever. Don't get my wrong, I am loving a lot of things about aging and the person I am shaping to be, the wisdom that comes with aging and the memories I have made for myself.

But what the fuck is going on, seriously?

It's an common and hot topic of discussion about how Covid-19 has shaped peoples lives the last years, turned lives upside down, flipped peoples mind holes and created a lot of huff and puff about how today's society is functioning. Things have been brought to the surface and people are seeing things that were so conveniently hidden before, and it's got my head boiling with bloody rage.

Politicians, climate change, human rights, female rights, lgbtq+ rights, immigration, healthcare, real estate, workplace ethics, work life... you bloody name it, its a fucking fiasco. When did the world get so ugly? Have we always been so lied to by the system, by the people in power? Am I just realising this now as I get older or has the world always been this way but perhaps better disguised? Have we always been set up for failure as the wealthy big boys run things, making sure its kept that way? Has everything always been so political? Or is it all just me growing up and coming of rage?

So what should I do with all this new built up anger? Burn a torch and set fire to the streets? Perhaps. Maybe. I want to. It feels like my only option at this point in order to be fucking heard. But nope, I'll just sit here and continue signing a bunch of online petitions to help make the world a more humane place (what I thought we were living in but aparently not). I'll wait for election days to vote in some more caring leaders who give a fuck about the planet. I'll have endless conversations with friends and colleagues about politics, hoping somehow having discussions will bring change. I'll educate myself more about topics and get even more angry and have the feeling of helplessness. I'll donate to that charity I really care about and again have an empty feeling of helplessness.

I've done it. I've done these. I'm doing them. And it just doesn't seem to be fucking working because every time I look at the news and every time I look around me, nothing has changed. Nothing is changing. Things are just getting worse. I'm trying. I'm really trying. But is there any point? Are we caught in this system and there's no way on fixing it?

So am I having a quater life crisis? A second puberty with raging hormones? Or just raging?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.