Humans logo

Character Trumps Appearance

Beauty: Defined

By Anonymous UwUPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

What makes a person beautiful? Most people look up to models, TV personalities, and celebrities when trying to define the conditions of beauty. Being beautiful differs from culture to culture, and from historical period to another, but beauty is not defined by how much makeup one wears or whether that person is skinny, fat, short, or tall. Beauty is what people wear on the inside. Can you imagine a world where instead of being judged by appearance, people are instead judged by their kindness and heart? As one wise man once said:

“I have a dream, that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character” ("I Have a Dream” Speech).

Beauty is definitely seen as something external, but honestly, it is more internal than external. An example of this is if a guy meet a girl. She is drop-dead gorgeous and could even pass for a model. He finally has the guts to talk to her, and her personality is rotten. She is rude, arrogant, and spoiled. Suddenly, her appearance doesn’t matter anymore, because the quality of her character is not worth his time. If everyone in the world were blind, people would care less about others’ personalities, and instead be focusing on their characters (my beauty routine personally would not change, since I’m not the kind of person to wear makeup on a daily basis).

Sissi Johnson of Huffington Post wrote that women spend an average of $8 per day on their face in the United States, and may spend up to $300,000 in a lifetime on beauty supplies such as makeup, primers, and moisturizers. If everyone were blind, people would likely not wear makeup at all, since they wouldn’t be able to see how they look with it anyway, and no one else would see it. If the women of this country stop wearing makeup, that average $8 per day would dramatically decrease, and thus lead to a lower quantity spent on beauty products in a lifetime. I perceive my beauty as character. I don’t pride myself on my appearance, or how stylish I look on a day to day basis. I personally care about heart and I try to be kind to people around me, whether they’re friends or just complete strangers. I believe kindness can get you far, but appearance will do nothing but dramatize it.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.