Humans logo

Changing a Life

What I did in December 2019

By DanaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
A photo of Peeves exploring the Christmas decorations

I'm sorry I've not written in a while. I hope you all had a great Valentine's Day. I spent mine with Peeves as my fiancé was (and still is) away on a training course for work. I did get to celebrate on what society calls Galentine's Day. We celebrated with Top Gear specials and prosecco. It's not a typical Valentine's, however it was perfect to us.

I know I said in my last post that I was going to write about my current life/situation or whatever you want to call it, however this is something that still takes place today and that surprisingly has become something that is close to my heart.

We all know on TV around Christmas time that the adverts for charities and causes appear more frequently than any other time of the year, which is rightly so because Christmas is the time of giving as well as receiving.

My fiancé and I were sat watching TV and I was in sort of a low place. It was my first Christmas being away from my family and his family too and I was fed up with other things that I can't say because I will get into trouble. I guess I was also having a life crisis because I was sitting and thinking what is even the point of anything. I think that's the best description I can give without it getting really dark. Anyways, I wasn't really talking as I believed my fiancé was mad at me for something. As I write this I'm rolling my eyes because I now know it was just me being stupid.

So, we were watching TV and an advert came on about sponsoring a child, and how the donation not only helps the child, but helps the community they live in. This immediately took my attention. I sat intently watching and taking in all the information, and I will hold my hands up and say it's the first advert that has really caught my attention about sponsorship.

I straight away went on my phone and typed in the website so I could get more information, and it was amazing. I genuinely felt like if I helped a child, there would be more purpose to my life than what there was at that point in time. I then went through the process in order to adopt a child.

Once my application was completed I turned to my fiancé and said "how would you feel if I sponsored a child?" I didn't tell him I'd already done it. He shrugged and went "it's your choice I guess." I then replied, "well I've just adopted one." I can't even remember his reaction but I remember he said "I would rather you sponsored an animal but it's your choice." I showed him the website where it explains about the sponsorship and what happens with the money and his tone seemed to change. He all of a sudden seemed pleased.

I write about this because it has actually given me fulfillment in my life. Everyday when I get home there is a letter from the charity explaining other aspects that I didn't see on the website and the other day I got a letter saying my sponsored child's first letter is on its way to me. This made me so excited. It has given me a great joy, and I would definitely recommend it.

I know that as I'm sat here writing this, my money is going towards a better life and a better community for my child, and it's the best feeling in the world.

Until the next time...

humanity
2

About the Creator

Dana

A graduate of Creative Writing now working as a Nursery assistant. Poet, short story and novel author.

Based in Plymouth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.