Humans logo

Changed Mind

D.P. Hunter

By Patrick BramerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Changed Mind

So, in my first story, I wrote about a dream I had when I was a kid. It wasn’t the typical dream job that most kids have when they are at that age (I don’t think anyway) but, it was my dream and it made me happy. I had this dream when I was 12 or 13 so it may have been too early to really think it could have been something I could accomplish. I mean, who knows, I might just change my mind.

Well, I did change my mind a few (or more) times about what I wanted to be when I grew up. It still wasn’t what I would call the top 3 “jobs” that everyone aspires to be when they get older but, it was something that I had hoped would be something I could call my “dream job”.

I changed my mind to work with electronics. I just knew that this was what I wanted to do with my life. I even took an electronics course in High School. Wow, once I did that everyone seemed to want all their electronic equipment fixed……by me. I didn’t mind doing it as it gave me practice in fixing things that were broken. Plus, it allowed me to make friends in school, or were they just taking advantage of me for what I can do? Either way, I was meeting people that I would otherwise not be doing. Some things I could fix and some things still stayed broken, but all in all, it became a good thing to know that I could fix something that was broken and make it work again.

I mentioned earlier that this “job” of fixing broken things in school allowed me to make friends. Well to elaborate a little more on this, I was able to meet the most beautiful girl there ever was. I was just standing in the hall by my locker when this beautiful girl walked up to me with sad eyes telling me that her music player wasn’t working anymore and wanted to know if I had time to fix it. Come on, she assumed that I had time on my hands to fix her stuff. Heck YA!!! I put everything that I was working on put on the back burner because I had a priority set forth in front of me and I had to take care of it. You have to understand that this had to be, hands down, the most beautiful girl that I had ever seen and if she would have said that she would go on a date with me if I walked naked down the hallway of the school, I would have done it……probably.

I have seen this girl in school before, but at that time was afraid to walk up to girls and talk to them. I think this had a lot to do with the fact I was so scrawny and really didn’t think any girls would be interested in me. I absolutely had no confidence in that part of me at that time. I just knew I had to make a good impression on fixing this device for her and If I wasn’t able to fix it then I would take it to someone to fix it for me and claim the credit.

It's kind of sad to think about how social appearance is so important in young people’s lives. In order to be accepted in this society, we have to perform well above our norms or just be either good-looking or athletic in order to have a social status. I suppose nothing has really changed from our early history.

The story continues.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Bramer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.