Humans logo

Caveman Syndrome

How a smile shooed it away

By chembarathiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Caveman Syndrome
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

When the times were unprecedented and we were trying to figure out the new normal, I felt at home with the new way of working. I didn't have to bother about how to get to the office, sitting in front of bosses for long hours and eating home-cooked meals that were half-frozen by the office air-conditioning. For the antisocial inside me, the pandemic turned out to be a blessing in disguise. So it isn't a wonder that when the restrictions began to lift one by one, I was ill-suited to the world we used to live in. Recently I came to know from a bumble date that this is called caveman syndrome. So when I say I have been living under the rock for most of the pandemic, it is not a figure of speech. 

There are no extra points in guessing that the last time I got out of my comfort zone was when I had to step out of my house. It was March 2021, vaccinations started in my country and people like me were oblivious to the chances of the second wave. We were living in our own little bubbles, you see. Unfortunately for me, my bank started deducting money for a trading account I never used. I tried my best to deal with everything online so that I don't have to step outside of my bubble, I mean the front gate of my house. In the end, none of my plans worked out and stepping out was unavoidable.

I have no clue regarding how the world and people's behaviours were changed. I knew I have to wear masks, use sanitiser and maintain distance. That was about it. I had mild anxiety and I kept telling myself that everything is going to be alright. Too much cliché, am I right? But one has to do what one has to do. So I soldiered on and then the next challenge came in the form of crossing the road. This might sound silly to people who live in places where strict traffic rules are followed. But I live in a small town in India and was not much of an expert in crossing the road even before the pandemic. I remember standing beside the road like a fool for a long time before one guy came to my rescue. If it weren't for people like him, I would have still stood there wondering how to tackle the situation. 

I would like to add a little bit of vanity here and you will see how it makes an impact in my story soon. My hair had almost turned grey during those stressful pandemic months. I didn't bother much about it as nobody was seeing me in that state. This meant that I had to visit the bank in this authentic form. Also, I have been working out consistently which helped me to be in shape even though I was eating a lot like any other pandemic foodie. This meant that I looked a bit more youngish for a head full of grey hair. 

I got into one auto and I gave the name of the place to the driver. He told me he was going to take one particular route as the other can be quite busy. This was my first conversation with a stranger in many months. Even though I didn't have any clue about the routes, I gave him a go-ahead. I simply wanted to end the conversation. We reached the destination and got out of the auto and then the real fun started.

I gave the fare amount to the driver and in turn, he asked me, "How's your head is so full of grey hairs at this tender age mole? Did you do any hair colouring and is this the side effect of this?" I was dumbfounded by the question. Then somehow I shook my head to give a no signal. Off came the new question - "How old are you to have this much grey hair?" I was taking baby steps in this "new normal" world and now this man wants to know my age. Boundaries people, boundaries! I wanted to shout at the top of my voice. But then I looked at the mask-hidden face of the driver and I show some genuine care in his eyes. Something felt loosening up in my body and I smiled at him and said that I have had grey hairs since I was fifteen and it has gotten worse over the years. "If it is genetics, nothing can be done mole. Anyway, you do some hair colouring and it would suit you." I had to suppress my laughter at his last comment. I thanked him and walked towards the bank feeling like a cotton candy.

Most of the time the crucial moments in our lives are not accompanied by any drumrolls. Even though it can feel like a moment's bravado, we know that we have been trying to gather that courage unconsciously for quite some time. The moment of staring into the eyes of that driver, the feeling of unwanted anxieties leaving my body and responding to him with a twinkle in my eyes, is what told me that we are going to be alright in this world. It doesn't matter whether it is old or new normal. We are all in this together.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

chembarathi

In search of the stories I cannot hold in my heart.

https://linktr.ee/chembarathi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.