Humans logo

Can you walk in my shoes?!

This poem was a life lesson given to me. That it's not a good look to point and laugh. Don't give Karma a reason to give it right back.

By Mario Garnica jrPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It’s so easy to point and laugh when you’re not wearing the shoes. But let it be reversed and you’d wish you could have a glimpse of how I pulled through.

Anyone can say “I can deal with it better than you”, but can they? Last time I checked they weren’t bulletproof. Until you’ve walked in my shoes and taken my beat down, don’t try to knock my crown down.

Now let’s take a good look in the mirror, I say with a grin. You laugh at me now, but I’ll see you again. Maybe you’ll realize that you and I aren’t any different in the end.

You’re not my foe, I don’t make enemies anymore. I’ve lived those insecurities once before. For heaven’s sake life is too short! So, stop criticizing it’s no longer 1984.

So why are you mad bro? I’m just doing my thing. Sorry, not sorry I proved to be exactly like the jungle king. No, I’m not dissing or talking bad to you. The fact is I walked in my shoes where I found myself to be tougher than you. The boy I once knew was never a fragile child. That’s why this man can handle everything with a smile.

Oh, you want to jab at my past? Let’s go! just be sure to have all the facts ready to go. Ok now let’s talk the talk and walk the walk. Oh wait, that’s ironic because I see that quote constantly on your back.

I’m going to shake your hand because no one wins in this game. It’s stupid and pointless and time wasted in vain. In this life there are struggles, for the rich and the poor. So, learn to not judge it’s time wasted too. Karma isn’t forgiving, trust me I walked in my shoes. It’s cool man, we don’t have to be friends, simply respect me and I’ll do the same to you.

Remember this for next time when you have something silly to say. Keep your mouth closed until the full story is disclosed. One day you’ll have children, and grandkids too. I pray that you never have to defend them and cry, “Try walking in their shoes.”

Reader, you know we’ve all been there! Been criticized, pointed at, given the cold shoulder, and talked about. So, why do it back? You see, the inspiration of this piece was a specific event in my life. Words would penetrate my ears that were hurtful. Eyes would pierce through me as if they were sharp arrows. And fingers pointing everywhere I would set foot in. At first, this was painful. The rumors, the name calling, the doors closing in my face. But rather than using this as a way to hit low, I used every stone thrown at me to climb out of that hole.

It was then when I realized, why do it too? It took a lot to walk in my own shoes, so why judge other’s story when it was painful to go through that. Sit down and remember the times you went through something like this. Perhaps when you were young, maybe you’ve been blessed to never deal with such things. Now, look even deeper and remember if you’ve ever pointed the finger, laughed at, or criticized someone. Did that accomplish anything? Did you gain something from it? How about the way it made you feel? You see, we live in a sad world where negativity seems to be what flourishes abundantly. Why should we continue to feed it? My lesson here is help you realize how ugly it is to be pointing fingers. But if it happens to you, never let it sink you into a hiding hole. Instead, remember forever to keep your light shinning and bring up others too.

advice
1

About the Creator

Mario Garnica jr

Hello, my name is Mario and I’ve always enjoyed writing. Whether it’s creating stories, or using my own life to inspire me. I've collected many drafts over the years. Come along, I think it’s time to share with you all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.