Humans logo

Can We Beat the January Blues?

New year, new you, yeah?

By Amy WildsmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It's that time of year again where the nights are still dark and you arrive home from work to the expected warmth of your home only to realise that you didn't set the heating correctly. It's freezing, it's bleak and it seems to be a month full of downs and low points with things going wrong for no reason at all.

It feels like it has been 4 years of complete hell, but in reality it's only been 3 weeks. The added stress of January being a 5 week month brings on all kinds of stress as that juicy pay check isn't coming into the bank for another 2 Fridays and you're not sure how much longer you can live off of the rice in the cupboard. The world seems to slowly be fading away.

That cup of sweet sweet tea makes you feel slightly better and the fact you can blame your mishaps on something other than yourself is always an added bonus. But i've been telling myself that the reason I'm struggling to get out of bed in the morning recently is because it's January, which when you think about it, is a load of utter bullshit.

It's cosy and warm, i'm tucked up next to my boyfriend and frankly the thought of going outside into that blizzard doesn't strike me as a very appealing prospect. But it's a new decade and the "new year, new me" promise I chanted outwardly on New Years Eve after 3 bottles of Pinot is screaming it's threats at me, so it can't possibly be my own doing, right?

I find that it's sort of become it's own brand in a way, an excuse for being shite at life. Something that can take away the pain of any suffering at the start of the year or for me, a way of getting out of those mundane resolutions.

"Oh fuck it, it's January"

"January is really fucking me up this year"

"Oh not to worry, i'll start in February. Dry February everyone!"

I'm not preaching to you or telling you that you should be high and mighty because that would make me the biggest hypocrite known to mankind. Things aren't always as easy as they seem and putting them into practice is one of the hardest and most effort provoking duties I think i've ever come across. I have blamed January for my blues since I began to engage with these common socials constructs because it makes me feel better about my life. Who wants to be sat in the wet and cold thinking that they're the crappiest person ever? No one.

We should be allowed to have it because life is hard as hell. There are so many things that I wasn't told about after university life and it's so easy for things to begin to fall on top of you. Rent, bills, food. No one told me that trying to afford all of this whilst trying to have a social life too would be an utter fiasco, but here we are.

January is our time to let things slide and be a little slack with things because sometimes you've just have to give yourself a break. Life is full of pressure and you've got to gently let that air out occasionally otherwise we'd all burst.

So soak it up, revel in it and blame it for as much as you can as it's quickly coming to an end. Once February hits there is nothing to blame but yourself and the added pressure comes straight back.

But you know what, you've got this, because you are fabulous.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amy Wildsmith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.