Humans logo

Can Arguing Really Be This Cute?

I am telling you, it's not what you think!

By Heidi WhitePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I laugh just thinking of some of the things we argue over. I mean honestly. We have been told that our arguments are cute, funny, and some people wish they could argue like we do. But what is it that makes it so funny? So cute, yet so incredibly annoying?

It’s all in the reaction, baby!

My husband is seven years older than me and has had his fair share of fights. Not physically, but verbally. And I can almost guarantee that he has won most, if not all of them. He is a logical thinker. Me, not so much. I'm an irrational thinker. I will pull something out of thin air and try to win my argument. There are a lot of, "I heard it as soon as I said it" moments, and that's where the reactions come from, mainly because I am the cause of those moments.

So what exactly do our cute, yet annoying arguments consist of? I can tell you, it's not what you have in mind!

He finds the most inappropriate things funny. Me, I can lay in bed and laugh so hard I pee on myself—from cat videos. Yes, I am THAT person. We are in your life, even if you don't know it. Just embrace it!

I will ask him to get out of the nice warm bed to grab me a late-night snack. Even when I have JUST crawled into bed. It’s a bad habit that I am working on! The first step is admitting the problem. I admitted it, okay?! He likes to bring this one up, A LOT.

Whose turn it is to clean the litter box. Yes, this is real life. Nine times out of 10, I will do it. But golly, there are some days I don't want to scoop the poop! Maybe my day has been pretty crappy already, and I don't need the literal poo to add to it.

Sing-a-longs. It sounds silly, but when my favorite song comes on in the car and I am singing at the top of my lungs, he will bust out in song. But not just any ol' song or voice. He will sing like Sean Connery. I cannot stand that, and he knows it. He does it just to see me get all red faced and huffy.

Last, but not least, is why he insists on dressing our children like they are homeless. This is not a joke, nor is it a drill. He will literally make them look as if we have no money, no home, or no style. I have to dress and redress our children sometimes! He certainly tries, though. I think...

We do have our fights, our struggles, and our everyday stresses that push us to our breaking points. But more often than not, we chose not to fight. We don't hold anything back, but when our fights blow up, RUN!

We are always working on improving our marriage and improving ourselves to make our marriage better. We never stop fighting or flirting. To this day, my husband can make me blush in a room full of people. He still gives me butterflies, and he still knows what buttons to not to push. He does every now and then to make sure I am still here for the long haul.

What exactly is my point? We argue over pointless, silly stuff, so when we have a big fight we know what’s really important. We know what we want, and what exactly it is we are fighting for—not all the small, minute, everyday shenanigans that bother us.

Our marriage will never be perfect to those who crave perfection. Instead, it might drive them straight to the crazy place, but for us it works. We fight a little. We laugh a lot. But we love even more.

That's what makes it perfect for us.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Heidi White

Full time SAHM. Future crazy cat lady. Tim Burton is my home boy. We went to different schools together. 2 mini monsters that never repeat anything, until I cuss. Married to a bearded blessing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.