Humans logo

BRAVE LADY

Battling Multiple Sclerosis

By Paul AslingPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember when I was first diagnosed. I had that split second when I opened my eyes in the morning thinking the MS wasn’t there. Then the truth hit. It was then the first thing, I thought of each morning. And the last thing I thought of before, I fell asleep.

It's seven-thirty am and dark. I leave my house in Fulham, the clouds above are black. I hear crashes of thunder in the distance. I shuffle and limp along as fast as I can. My brolly in one hand and my mauve stick in the other. I have my bag strapped across my side. I feel like an explorer on a mission. As I get to the end of my road, my legs start to get weak and I slow. Not just my legs but everything including my brain. It is like I have not only, a large rain shower to deal with, but a thick fog in my brain as well.

I see my bus a number eleven, looming in the distance. I make it to the bus stop in time. People are jostling to get on. I get barged from side to side. I make it on, but there are no seats. A large fat man who is sitting in the disabled seat, tells me there is room upstairs. I stand at the bottom of the stairs, sweating and my legs dying. The bus pulls up at my stop at Fulham Broadway Station. There is a rush for the exit. At one point I nearly topple straight out and onto the pavement. A young lad steadies me by holding my arm. It is always the young ones!

I show my Oyster travel card to the machine. I push myself through towards the stairs. There is no lift at this station. I stand on the dirty dusty platform. A strong gust of wind starts to blow from the tunnel. I see my train slowly emerge from the blackened hole at the end. As the train pulls up, as usual the doors do not line up, to where I am waiting. Everyone pushes in like sardines trying to get into a tin. I don’t manage it.

As the clouds roll back and the rain stops, the morning sun is bringing the city alive. Causing the streets to move with a great river of people. Red buses and black cabs slivering amongst the buildings. In the distance, I see the Millennium wheel perched like a magnificent silver ring, balancing on its frame. I can see bridges stretching away on both sides, separated only by the bright sliver serpent in the landscape that is the River Thames.

I arrive at work thirty minutes late. The old cow of a manager tuts, as I walk in all bedraggled. I would not mind but this is a charity shop. And I am a volunteer.

It is five o’clock, time for home. I need to do it all again. Let battle commence. It is hard being disabled but I love my work. I think Winston Churchill once said. ‘I will battle on the buses and the tube every day and I will never be defeated.’ It is like a war!

You only have one life. Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. MS has taught me to hope regardless of what is in the present. It has made me prepared for the future, with bright hopes for tomorrow. As I stand there, I think to myself. I am determined to remain unbroken. MS cannot and will not defeat me.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Paul Asling

I share a special love for London, both new and old. I began writing fiction at 40, with most of my books and stories set in London.

MY WRITING WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH, CRY, AND HAVE YOU GRIPPED THROUGHOUT.

paulaslingauthor.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.