Humans logo

Better Days...

Are they really coming?

By George FaircloughPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
2
Better Days...
Photo by Cedric Wilder on Unsplash

Do you ever feel like the world has turned completely upside down?

Lockdown has truly and utterly felt like this.

Losing an overseas performing contract and having to travel back to the UK to unemployment wasn't exactly the idea I had in mind for 2020, however it has allowed me some time to recentre myself and focus on what is truly important in life.

When your whole world turns upside down there is only one thing you crave: normality.

Normality is exactly what I crave. Even though I was supposed to be sailing around the world for 7 months this year, a world adventure is not something that I crave for my first day out of lockdown. I don't exactly know how I will feel on that day until it happens, but I suspect I'll still be quite wary of the world that we now live in.

In respect of this, I want to paint you through the day I have in mind and it is all about immersing oneself into the old routine and thus, my normal self...

Beep...Beep...Bee --

By insung yoon on Unsplash

I'm awake. I look over at the clock, it reads 6.15 am. The day feels like Christmas morning. A longing for everything implodes my senses and opens my eyes as I pull the cover off my body and walk outside of the bedroom and over to the coffee machine in the reading room opposite. I opt for a medium espresso and perch myself on the soft cushioned seat. I take a moment to breathe in this new breath of life before I take my first sip of the coffee. The hot liquid oozes down my throat and warms me inside. It is comforting. I take another sip and stare out of the window. I can hear the birds whistling and the trees swaying in the wind. It's a glorious day. The sun is shining and it's smiling at me; I smile back.

After I finish my morning caffeine fix, I take it upon myself to escape down the stairs grabbing a light hoody along the way, out through the back door, stopping to put some shoes on my feet, and into the garden. Here I begin, like most mornings, to take the steps up to the yoga studio or in another world I climb the mountain to the summit for my morning retreat.

By Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

As I meditate, I hear the sounds of the world going on around me, the nature soundscape soothes my soul as I sit there, back straight, head up and sounding 'om'. I stretch my limbs to a relaxing playlist of zen music, making sure that my joints are warmed up for the day ahead.

After restoring my mind, I head back into the house to take a shower. I switch on the taps and the rainfall begins to pour; cold at first and it makes me jump back as it hits me. I decide to wait for it to heat up. I step in and it nourishes my naked skin. It's a different kind of warm today. I let my mind escape and I imagine myself being sucked down the shower hole like Alice falling down the rabbit hole. I am ready to submit to the day for I have waited forever for it to finally come.

My hair is washed and my skin is cleansed, I get myself dry, brush my teeth, apply some light aftershave and finish my skincare regime before making my way to the closet. I opt for a simple white shirt and blue jeans. I have a long day ahead and I want to feel as comfortable as possible. I once again venture downstairs, this time to fill my water bottle up and collect my backpack that I packed the night before.

I stare at the clock. It is 8:30 am: Breakfast time.

Today is a day of eating out wherever possible. There is a cute little cafe at the bottom of the road that I've never been to, that I've always walked passed and thought 'I'll go in there some time' but have never got round to doing so. Today is that day. I order scrambled eggs and toast and a flat white. It's a pleasant morning and I decide to sit outside. I take it all in for a moment and then the waiter brings me my second coffee of the day. I thank him and begin sipping the drink. I have missed this.

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Food is always better when somebody else is cooking it for you and it was indeed delicious. After digesting, I take my laptop from my bag and open it up. I've been working on a play recently and now is the perfect time to indulge in writing some more. This is one of my favourite things to do. I get such creative juices when surrounded by the noise of a coffee shop. People are passing by smiling and I smile back, which is odd for London, but it feels natural and the right thing to do. I check my phone and almost an hour has gone by already. I finish the scene I'm on and I get up, ordering a 'Big Five' Smoothie to go and pay my bill.

Next up, is a walk through Greenwich. On my way, I stop by at the local independent bookshop and purchase a new book. I don't need any more as I have enough at home but one can always make room on the shelf for a new book, right?

I'm stopping by my university. When I was a student there, I used to love sitting by the fountains and reading a book there, so that's exactly what I'm going to do. It has been cornered off for the whole of lockdown and now it is free to roam. The fountain makes me want to reenact the opening credits of Friends. I wish I had my friends here with me now. I open up my book and let the worries of the world pass me by.

I'll be there for you because you're there for me too.

My phone rings. It is my partner. We're grabbing lunch together and heading to Notting Hill for the afternoon. This is another area of London I have always wanted to see but never got around to going there. He's Hugh Grant and well, I'm Julia Roberts of course. Julia Roberts is one of my favourite actresses and Pretty Woman is my all-time favourite film. I'm quite a fan.

We jump on the train and head towards there with our sandwiches in our backpacks. It's amazing what you can see through a train window. On my commute to work, this was always my favourite thing to pass the time. The world goes on and you get to make your own impression of it and I like that.

Sooner rather than later, we arrive in Notting Hill. There are flowers everywhere and the sun is now at its peak. I view Notting Hill through my shades but it still looks beautiful through a brown tint. I take them off for a brief moment, to take in all its vividity and vibrance.

By Bethany Opler on Unsplash

First stop, the market on Portobello Road. Sellers are selling everything and anything and there are some cool finds here from vinyl to vases, there are some really interesting pieces. Life seems normal again and I like that.

Next, we head to the Biscuiteers Boutique and Icing Cafe for a quick snack. Their carrot cake is delicious. After indulging our tastebuds we decide to head to the famous door of Hugh Grant's home during the movie. 3,2,1 snap...one for the picture book...or Instagram. Speaking of Instagram worthy pictures, we decide to explore more of Notting Hill's streets from the jewel tones on Lancaster Road to the all-white hues on Ladbroke before heading into Alice's antique shop.

After seeing Notting Hill we decide to rent a Santander bicycle. This is also something I've never done before nor ridden in London for that matter. It scares me. But today is a day of making the impossible possible.

By John Jackson on Unsplash

We stop off at Barrafina Drury Lane for wonderful tapas. We share a banquet of meats and really good wine. One of the best riojas we've ever drunk.

Our legs can't function so we decide to take the train home. We have guests coming over from 8 pm for a 'FU CORONA! party'. All of our friends and loved ones are coming over to celebrate the end of all of this. It is now safe to be with people outside of your household. We've longed endless for this day to come and it finally has and we are so excited. The shopping was all done before the big day; all that's left to do now is set up.

I'm feeling rather tipsy and need to go for a lie-down. The sun takes it out of you. Or was it the wine?

My partner begins setting up like the gentleman he is. After about 15 minutes of shuteye on the sofa, I begin to feel guilty and head downstairs to go and help him out. He looks stressed deciding which glassware to put where and whether or not the potatoes should go next to or into the salad.

Cue the Fairy Godmother for I have arrived...

Ippity, Bippity, Pop et voila: dining room realness is served.

By Alexander Naglestad on Unsplash

All that's left to do now is to go upstairs and get dressed. I've been saving these blue jacquard silk trousers for the first party out of lockdown and a rush of excitement fills my body when putting them on for the first time. My partner hands me a glass of champagne at this point. He's right. This is a celebration. As I button up the buttons of my crisp white shirt, I can't help but wonder, will we ever experience this again? History seems to be repeating itself every 100 years or so, will the next generation be prepared for it? I can't say I was. But I adapted and I stayed in good spirits even on the bad days. For when you lose everything, life gives you a clean slate to build back up upon.

Right, I must go now...there goes the doorbell? I wonder who it will be...

humanity
2

About the Creator

George Fairclough

A 23 year old creative living in London trying to find his way through the joy that is life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.