Humans logo

Beat Around the Bush: A Millennial Concept

Just say it for heaven's sake.

By Miyah HendersonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Remember the days where absolutely nothing mattered? I’m talking about being six years old and not giving a damn. Life was purely lollipops and rainbows. Well, for the most part that is. The days where you would chase a boy around the playground, and that would be your way of showing your utmost admiration for him. It was always mutually understood. At age nine, I began writing emails. Not just any emails though, long novels about how deeply “in love” I was for whatever boy gave me remotely any attention. Pretty ballsy I’d say. 13 was a time to be alive. I was asked out by a kid in the orchestra room because I told his best friend that I “really liked him.” A direct source. Basically, what I’m trying to get at is this: What the hell happened to ruthlessness of our youth?! Why am I terrified of rejection? Why do I get choked up over the thought of verbally expressing my feelings for someone? So many questions, 21 years, and I still don’t have this shit figured out.

1. He shoots! He doesn’t score…

We miss out on the opportunities we don’t go after. Cliche, after cliche, after cliche. Unfortunately, the reason why these sayings stick with people is because we can all simply attest to them! So to all the guys that I could have easily been with… I’m sorry, your girl was scared! But quite honestly, y’all didn’t help the situation at hand. We are all at fault here. We can't wait around wondering if he/she is into us. I’m a huge advocate for instigating. I should probably take my own advice and do just that…

Because how many times have you waited to tell someone you’re into them, and then it comes to backfire because they are now talking to someone else, but back then they felt the same way about you? That is what I like to call a slap in the face.

2. “It takes two to make a thing go right.”

You see, this all takes teamwork. Both sexes must band together to create an inviting environment for these feelings. As much as I would like to believe that we could all think this way, I know that's near impossible. I mean, a girl can freaking dream. I do believe that this is not a one-sided concept. Having the courage to simply say exactly how you feel is quite a challenge nowadays. What if they don’t feel the same way? We’ve all been there before. I think that the one who is performing the confession should claim it loud and proud. The one receiving the heart-pouring should acknowledge that he/she had a whole lot of courage to express these vulnerable feelings. That’s what I think at least.

3. Say it like is it, my dude.

There’s nothing worse than a passive person. Well, in my opinion, of course. If you are confessing feelings about someone you cannot go about it like you are choosing to split a meal with a friend. I kinda want the salad, but if you really want the grilled chicken that’s totally fine... NO! Get the salad damn it! Claim it! If you are willing to share these intimate feelings, you better tell them everything. Okay, to an extent. Do not go about it like you are unsure. There’s something captivating about passionate people and people willing to genuinely share. Be that person. Be the person that everyone else is too scared to be. It’s okay. I guarantee that one day someone will acknowledge your self-bravery, and they will be the person you were looking for all along. In other words, always get the salad.

So basically, I know this concept isn’t an easy one. Who am I to tell you how to live your life? It truly isn’t my place at all. I can promise you this: Someone out there is waiting for you to do this. It’s 2019, y’all. We are all getting too old for this “beat around the bush game.” Girls, be the instigator for once. Guys, don’t be an asshole. It is as simple as that. Good luck on this endeavor. I’m always here cheering you on.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Miyah Henderson

Just a college student trying to find a good creative outlet, you know?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.