Humans logo

Be a man

My thoughts on manliness

By Johann HollarPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
https://www.thoughtco.com/thmb/O9DhgXJA2h0gLzVllWN_U__QiqQ=/768x0/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc()/John-L-Sullivan-1995-3x2gty-58b998a63df78c353cfc4456.jpg

Being a man myself I have noticed something in the men of today.

They are not.

It seems that a lot of men base their concept of manliness on the rhetoric of Donald John Trump (who is not even close to being anything other than a ugly sack of foul wind).

These morons who are of the pro-Trump variety think that treating women like crap, being a bully, buying a ton of guns, opposing and even storming the capitol as form of manliness.

That there is a joke.

Here in this post, I will give my thoughts (rational thoughts to be exact) on what I think makes a man.

Hit the gym you bum

Have you seen Trump and his worthless lot?

Not exactly the physically fit type now, are they? These "guys" look like they are one combo meal from Chick-fil-A from getting a quadruple bypass. Yet they think they are the prime example of male masculinity and aren't even willing to lift 20 lbs. several times just to stay healthy.

I know there are some people out there who have neither the time nor the money, that is often the reason why most people don't workout. But that doesn't mean you can't look for opportunities to stay healthy. Granted the chicks won't fling themselves at you because you are a hunky guy, but at least it would better yourself physically and mentally.

Toxic Masculinity

Like the sign says and I agree.

The website https://www.verywellmind.com/what-is-toxic-masculinity-5075107 describes toxic masculinity as:

1) Toughness: This is the notion that men should be physically strong, emotionally callous, and behaviorally aggressive.

2) Antifeminity: This involves the idea that men should reject anything that is considered to be feminine, such as showing emotion or accepting help.

3) Power: This is the assumption that men must work toward obtaining power and status (social and financial) so they can gain the respect of others.

Other aspects could include bashing non-hetero's, treating women's bodies as property and generally just being an asshole towards anyone who disagrees.

Men should cry, not whenever they feel like it of course, but when you feel sorrow or are upset by something, you have the right to cry.

My mom once told me how my father cried tears of joy when I was born, how does that make a man weak?

Not all men can enlist and if even they wanted to, why?

This sort of crap defined most of my life until I was 18.

I have Asperger's syndrome, I wanted to enlist with the United States Marine Corp, but when I found out I couldn't join any branch of the armed forces, it devastated me.

So why the hell are people focused on service to country being a form of toughness and that those who don't aren't tough? How is dying for corporate greed like the illegal invasion of Iraq a sign of toughness? and why should women folk fall for men in uniform?

I hate those of you out there that think this way and you mocking me for being unable enlist because of my "disability", has a sort of thinking that makes you sound like Nazi scum.

You can't do sports, so what?

Sports may be what separates the boys from the men, but what if guys can't do sports? or even certain sports? or lose interest in sports and pursue something else?

I at one point thought about not doing sports back in high school and go into the theater club (or whatever they called it) I didn't because I enjoyed doing sports, I was good at doing sports, so therefore I stayed in sports. I even at one point was stupid enough to think that real men weren't real unless they did sports. Now, I consider manliness an opinion like the piece I am writing.

You also got people who are stupid about which sports people want to do, like Hank Hill on soccer vs football in the episode "Three Coaches and a Bobby" with such quotes:

"Bobby Hill: You know, dad, the kids playing soccer don't have any lumps or bruises and Coach Lucas gives them oranges at half time.

Hank: [sighing] Bobby, I didn't think I'd ever need to tell you this but I would be a bad parent if I didn't. Soccer was invented by European ladies to keep them busy while their husbands did the cooking.

Bobby Hill: Why do you have to hate what you don't understand?

Hank: I don't hate you, Bobby.

Bobby Hill: I meant soccer.

Hank: Oh. Oh yeah, I HATE soccer. Yes."

and of course:

"Coach Lucas: [on the phone] Hank, Coleman Lucas. Just need your fax number so I can fax over Bobby's soccer diet.

Hank: We don't HAVE a fax, or a fax number.

Coach Lucas: Oh. Well, just give me your e-mail address and I'll attach it.

Hank: Yeah, it's "football is great, soccer is dumb" dot com.

[hangs up]"

Then you have this line from Sheldon Cooper in the Big Bang Theory episode "The Cornhusker Vortex"

"Sheldon Cooper: I grew up in Texas. Football is ubiquitous in Texas. Pro football, college football, high school football, Pee-Wee football; in fact, every form of football except the original: European football, which most Texans believe to be a commie plot."

I know these are TV shows, but it still paints a negative image of men in sports. If men don't want to do American Football because they would rather pursue the European version, then so what?

In the End

I could go on some more about negative concepts of men, but I think I have made my point for now.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Johann Hollar

I had attended Minnesota State University Mankato where I received my Bachelors in History with a Minor in Philosophy. I currently work at the Woodbury Village Target as a Stocker when I am not writing you all such interesting stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.