Humans logo

Aren’t You Tired of Pretending to Be Okay?

Are you?

By Sabrina BoydPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Aren’t You Tired of Pretending to Be Okay?
Photo by R.D. Smith on Unsplash

Sooner or later, we all get to the point where our attempts to pretend to be who we are not, to make our behavior seem more socially acceptable, lose all meaning for us.

Let's smile when we want to cry, try to please everyone without exception, and worry that we are not perfect enough… This is a grueling and useless exercise.

Not everything happens "in perfect order", and our life circumstances do not always turn out to be the way we would like them to be. But society puts pressure on us, forcing us to be (or at least look like) happy, cheerful, and tolerant people all the time. But if we constantly pretend, we only hurt ourselves and ruin our lives. It's time to dump her and move on.

"I will no longer tolerate the insinuations of those around me because I have reached a certain stage when I no longer want to waste my time with what does not satisfy me, what bothers me or makes me suffer.

And now I have no patience at all for cynicism, excessive criticism, and non-alternative demands of any kind. I've lost all desire to make people who don't like me feel sympathy for me. And I will not love those who do not love me and do not smile at those who cannot even squeeze a tiny smile in my direction.

I won't spend another minute with people lying to me or trying to manipulate me. I do not participate in conflicts and I do not try to compare myself with other people. I believe in a balanced world, and therefore I avoid people who are harsh and uncompromising.

I hate betrayal and people who don't think friends should be loyal to each other. I don't want to deal with people who don't know how to appreciate or inspire others. It's hard for me to accept those who don't like animals. And most importantly, I will no longer endure those who do not deserve it, "said Meryl Streep.

We always claim that everything is in order, even when it is not. In the course of each person's life, he must inevitably face circumstances that require negative emotions - such as sadness and anger.

But just because these emotions are negative doesn't mean they're unhealthy. Isn't it normal to be sad when someone breaks our heart or when a loved one gets sick?

There is nothing more painful than pretending to be okay when you want to scream in pain. Sooner or later, such behavior turns against us. And we begin to slide along the downward spiral, which absorbs us without a trace and squeezes our soul.

Did you know that about eight out of ten people are sad pretending to be okay with them?

But when we do this, then the emotions that have not been released hit us. Our soul is wrinkled and full of bitterness. Many times we don't even realize that these emotions are poisoning us and making us weaker every day.

And, therefore, we should get rid of the voluntary obligation to always be an ideal and prepared member of society as soon as possible. We should start to be who we are.

When we pretend to be who we are not, we not only cause discomfort, but it can also lead to depression, hopelessness, anxiety, chronic fatigue, insomnia, and constant irritability.

You have to constantly try to be yourself, authentic. It is also very important to recognize the right to make a mistake for yourself. and for others and to understand that you should not be ashamed of your past, whatever it may be.

If we dare to deal with all these problems and solve them once and for all, we can finally begin to relate to ourselves much better than before. We can radically rethink our lives.

Believe me, our lives do not need to be perfect. And true happiness does not require us to be happy all the time. To attain true happiness, we must accept our life as it is - with all its ups and downs.

The most important lesson in life that many of us have not yet learned is that we need to know, accept, and love the most important person in our lives - that is, ourselves. But to do that, you have to give up many things, beliefs, and lies that have become quite familiar to us over the years.

Open your eyes and dare to look at your life without anesthesia.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.