Humans logo

Apartment 413

Blog 13: Endless battles

By Melanie GuajardoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Google

December 4, 2020

Who would have thought we would have made it this far already this year? I can’t believe Christmas is upon us and it is December fourth already. Just Monday I celebrated another year of life, turning 26. I thought once I got to my late twenties I would start freaking out, but the reality of it is that it is jut a number. What I am more concerned with is feeling good about myself and living a healthy life. If I feel good as I progress in this life, everything else is just part of the journey. Just trying to get a little better than before and living a full life.

It isn’t always easy when you are going through your life journey. Even though I have great friends and a great boyfriend that made me feel loved and just let me relax on my birthday I couldn’t help but feel a little sad this week. The day after my birthday I just woke up sad and I had no earthly idea why. Causing this week to be an emotional struggle for me. I feel that as I grow older, not in age but in my wisdom and experiences I have also become a bit negative. As I have said before in other blogs, the negativity is sometimes all consuming. This week was a little like that. My bad thoughts that had absolutely no reason to even be in my head would win out the positive thoughts a lot. I am at a constant brain battle just trying to keep myself positive. Sometimes that’s the hardest battle of my whole day.

Positivity was never something I worried about when I was younger. Not until recent years that things have changed a lot around me, and I have been experiencing negativity has my mind also morphed. I never meant to let it happen, it just silently seeped into my mind and made itself at home. Sometimes I would feel like I wasn’t even myself during these phases. I reach and reach into the abyss to reach out for the girl I was before. A more positive girl and a more loving human. I allowed life to harden me. Now, I must learn how to break the barriers I placed for myself and become an all-around positive woman and share a lot more love. I want to only spread positivity and cheer to those around me, but when I am not feeling either of those things how can I possibly. I do not want to be a hypocrite, so I begin by figuring out how to maintain the positivity in myself.

I didn’t even feel like writing the blog this week. Disheartened just by my own negativity. It doesn’t matter to me if people read or not, what matters is that this is a productive outlet for me to voice things that may linger in my head or vent my worries and doubts. Regardless of whether you read and care or not, I love to write and I am proud that I was able to post something. Even when my mind was telling me “nobody cares,” I told myself that I care enough to stick with something I started when I moved with hope. I want to feel full of love and hope and happiness. Even though feelings are always fleeting I want to learn to cope with negativity and stress better and become the woman I envision. A strong minded, healthy living, free spirited and loving woman. If you read this, thank you and I appreciate you. Thank you for listening to a stranger’s rants and troubles. If no one else in this world has told you today, keep going, you’re doing great and I love you.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Melanie Guajardo

Just a 26 yr old with an active imagination & a lust for life. Follow me @melaniegyo on IG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.