Humans logo

Apartment 413

Blog 4: Life, death and music.

By Melanie GuajardoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

September 17, 2020

In case I don’t say it later, I am exhausted. This weekend was a whirlwind of a weekend. After work on Friday Chris and I left to out hometown back in The Valley for a funeral. Friday night I stayed up till the wee hours of the night with one of my closest friends, Tori, while sipping on a couple of drinks. The next morning bright and early we had to get ready and head to Chris’ aunts funeral. It was hard for me to say the least. I was expecting to cry because I had built some small, nice relationship with his aunt and I knew it would break my heart seeing everyone mourn for her. But what I did not expect was to have a horrible physical anxiety spell where my whole body began to shake from all the emotions I felt seeing her lie there in that light pink casket.

She had lost her battle to cancer and had lost so much weight before passing away that I was in shock seeing her there. No longer able to come over to her house expecting to see her for Christmas. Life is crazy in the way that things are so easily lost when you die. When your life comes to an end, things here on earth are no longer your problem. We work so hard our entire lives to be comfortable on this Earth, but when we are no longer around, we take none of those things with us. Makes you sit back and think twice about what you are doing out here in this life doesn’t it? I would love to leave behind an amazing legacy and millions of stories to pass on for generations. That does not mean I won’t take care of my family or my future unborn children, but let’s hope everything else is able to fall into place.

The life cycle of a human is always taken for granted. Do we really think about it though? Just like when we question what is next after college, should we just accept the fact that for some of us the next chapter in our life cycle is death? That is a hard topic to process and discuss. Simple fact of the matter is that this topic that is hard for many of us is simple the reality that we all face. While you live your life, you should try and live with purpose, regardless if that purpose is simply to make one person smile a day. Living with a positive purpose, I think, will help you live a happy life. Live life knowing today could be your last, but you lived with compassion, care, and confidence so even if your life is short you lived a good life.

Things took a morbid and real serious turn, but such is life. Sometimes things will really open your eyes and make you realize things you may not think of often. Life goes on and we must keep the ball rolling regardless if we pass it on to next of kin or leave it with your best friend. Life does not pause for any of us so we must continue to dance along to the beat of our own song. Afterall, your life is whatever song you want it to be and this Earth is our dancefloor. A million songs playing across the surface of our world. Everyone creating their own individual rhythm and rhymes. I want my song to become a classic and be remembered for decades to come. Let us make this song a great one, and by song, I mean life.

family
Like

About the Creator

Melanie Guajardo

Just a 26 yr old with an active imagination & a lust for life. Follow me @melaniegyo on IG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.