Humans logo

Another Birthday

It about me.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Another Birthday
Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

As I just turned the page to another year on my life. I am getting text and messages of well wishes for a Happy Birthday.

That is right is my birthday. It is going to be a fun day just for me. I have discounts on food and other things going to be.

I woke up to to playful game of "let's make a deal" done my husband. Yes of course I am won the game.

I get to do and what I want to do today.

Then the texts come from friends and family. The neighbors left cards and flowers for me on our front steps this morning.

Just of thinking of me makes me smile and happy inside. It is great to know who much you mean to someone.

I wish that one person was here to wish me a Happy Birthday. I know that she is looking down at me and smiling just like must have smiled the day that I was born.

I was the special baby to be born. I has a tuff start to life. I am still here in this world.

I became a nurse as my career. I had a learning disability. I was told that I couldn't be one.

I guess that I proved them wrong.

I was a visiting nurse. I know that I brought many smiles to my people that I served.

I watch them pass away and also watch get better.

They always my a big deal out of birthday.

They knew that they had a special nurse. They had coffee wait for me or a towel to dry off when it was raining.

One time a got snowed in my parking spot. The family went out dug me about.

I always took time to listen to them. They had smiles on their faces when I left.

I think that is what make me special. I am not just name or person I care about people.

I was born for a reason. I am of one of those who care what people think and feel.

Yes, today is my birthday. If you have forgotten. I know that it going to be a good day because one of my favorite client just took that time to call me and we went down memory line with them.

This is why my birthday is special to me. I wonder what else is going to happen today.

I will take time to remember my passed birthday. It is also great to take time to remember.

All those cakes and gifts. Some of them I still how and yes they will spark a memory that is the best part of a birthday of the past.

Oh look someone took time to send me flowers for my birthday. Well my husband is full of surprises.

I am 52 this year if you want to know. I am taking more chance and charge of my life this year.

I hoping that is going to better as it goes. I am glad to alive and survive the Covid-19.

I have had my shot and still wear my mask. I wonder who has going their shots. I mean my clients are they protecting themselves.

I am super happy to send my day with the friends and family with well wishes that I have gotten so far as T

The day is still young and so am I.

I am off to enjoy my birthday with friends and family now. I hope that will enjoy the time they spent with me today. Friends and families make birthday special. They take the time to remember how special you are in their lives.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.