Humans logo

Am I really trying to Write Again?

When will I learn? -OR- when can I prove myself wrong?

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sitting at the Desk Thinking about Cutting my Writing Career!!

Hey There, Its EDB, that is Erik DeSean Barrett, requesting a few moments of your time to talk about a few things on my mind. I’m sitting here, on this Monday, November 15, 2021 years following numerous awesomesauce occurrences, thinking dude, Why TF are you trying to write anything?

September1993, somewhere around the genesis of the month; i stepped foot in my first true English class. I am sure you reading this can understand. You can imagine, the first time you tried to write a term paper, right? How did ya feel? If like me, it was something like, dude, I have nothing to talk about, so how the hell am I gonna get 1000 words on this paper? WELL, here I am thinking the same thing; like bruh, ya sucked then, and ya so suck now. Then again, maybe, just maybe this time is different? Now I am EDB, podcaster, spiritualist, social media worker… I am sure I can at least scrap 600 words together, and for a bonus, have those 600 words connect together, and make sense.

Today, If you are reading this when its released, is Monday November 15, 2021; which means it is week ten of the National Football League season; week eleven (NCAA); and that for me makes it an interesting day to return to the world of blogging. A lot has changed since the last time I’ve written anything. First things first, I am officially retired from the world of politics, and am settling into my next venture, sports commentator. No.. That is the answer to your next question. I am not a junior Stephan A. Smith. That 40million dollar troll is straight dead to me. For me, its not just about who is good V bad, but rather its dissecting the world of sports. Mentally, Physically, Socially, etc, all make up this massive experience we know as sports.

Think back, a few weeks ago. Aaron Rodgers getting the Rona was the major topic of discussion. AGAIN No.. I am not going to litigate the covid case here, but rather our needing to point out how the well being of players are just as important, as the team record. Also its an opportunity to promote athletics, while I got the attention of the people who are wanting to talk about the Athletes. What about Music? Looking, Listening, Learning from those talented people who may have never gotten a shot if it wasn’t for this awesome piece of business we know as the internet? And finally we got old faithful. The Big screen.

I sat down one day thinking. Bruh. How much ya paying Netflix, Hulu, Disney+, Peacock, AppleTV+, Discovery+, more for these subscriptions, I don’t ever use? Oh, Let me throw this at ya. Would it shock you, if I said, I have a closet full of movies I have never seen? Don’t be shocked, I do. So I have challenged myself to watch stuff. At least one movie a week, as well some of these box sets I have. For example, my first movie, one I stumbled on thanks to the wife.

Red Notice, a 2021 American action comedy film written and directed by Rawson Marshall Thurber. It stars Dwayne Johnson as an FBI agent who reluctantly teams up with a renowned art thief (Ryan Reynolds) in order to catch an even more notorious criminal (Gal Gadot). The film marks the third collaboration between Thurber and Johnson following Central Intelligence (2016) and Skyscraper (2018), and the second collaboration between Johnson and Reynolds following Hobbs & Shaw (2019). Originally planned for release by Universal Pictures, the film was acquired by Netflix for distribution. It began a limited theatrical release on November 5, 2021, before digitally streaming on the platform on November 12, 2021. The film received generally mixed reviews from critics.

I am not going to say more than that, because I would like you to watch it, maybe we can compare notes next week this time? Awesomesauce.. Well thats about all I have to talk about today. I know I didn’t explain all on my mind, but I hope I shared enough to at least make pay attention to me seem interesting.

Until Next Time —-> LATTERZ -EDB

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.