Humans logo

Abuse?

Where do we step in and help?

By Human HumanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

One day I’m laying in bed and scrolling social media. I come across a video with a title that suddenly catches my eyes “Lady goes off on bus for boyfriend hitting girlfriend.” I immediately click on the video because I want to know what happened. As I watch the video the lady holding the camera is yelling at a guy for physically abusing his girlfriend on a public city bus. The guy is yelling at his girlfriend to get off the bus because they have called the cops and he doesn’t want to go to jail. The lady behind the camera demands that the girlfriend stays seated and doesn’t go anywhere with her abuser. A few other women on the bus helped and kept her seated by giving her advice that if she leaves she will be hit again and soon. Something that may eventually end in death. The girlfriend stays seated and waits for the cops.

Immediately I start to cry! I get goosebumps and I’m emotional. This hit home. I was so proud that someone finally stood up and helped instead of just watching and recording! I am not a victim of physical abuse, but I am close to a victim who has been physically abused. One who has been in many abusive relationships. A question I have is, when do us bystanders step in? When is the right time to take charge? What happens if the victim is upset because you’ve tried to help? Or what happens if they take their frustration out on you instead of their abuser? I know a lady. Someone who is dear to my heart. Someone I’d give my last breathe for. She and her children mean the world to me.

She is desperately in love with a man who’s way of showing love and affection is by hurting her. He does drugs and gets high off of seeing her hurt. She knows no better. She loves and and in her mind he is the only man who will ever lover her. She doesn’t really know what it means to be romantically loved. She throws herself at any man who looks her way. She gives in very easily. But what about her children? She has little girls who look up to her for guidance and reference. They look up to her to see what is needed to be a queen. She has boys looking up to her because they do t have a father around to teach them to be kings. Hey look to her to guide then to the proper way to treat a queen. But what they see is pain. What about the children? They love her too, but it hurts to see her bleed.

I have tried to help. Many times I found myself in between a man and a woman threatening him to hit me instead of her. Me, a young girl, willing to get hit so she doesn’t have to. My help was rejected, and in return my sister stopped talking to me and took the kids away from me. It hurt so bad because I was, I am, worried about her. Each day I fear for her life. I fear for the children. I fear for the day I get a call telling me that someone I love is hurt and fighting for their life. Why can’t she see that isn’t love? What more can I do to show her that there is someone out there who will love her the way she deserves? What can I do to protect those children? If i get them taken away and they end up in a bad place then it’ll kill me more. But what happens when you stand by and do nothing? What happens if the pain turns into something worse? How do I help? What can I do? What do I do when no matter how many times she turns away from me or gets mad at me for trying to help I am always ready and willing to fight for her? Many people have tried to help and she’s turned everyone down. They say it’s a waste of time to help someone who doesn’t to be helped but I will NEVER stop fighting for her!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.