Humans logo

About Me -Gillian Lesley Scott

Which me do you want to know about?

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
16
Authors own

I’m a  Scots born Australian adoring hands off mum of amazing adults,  shonky but entertaining wife, enthusiastic actress( pandemic lockdowns permitting, which they aren’t right now ) writer,part time  primary teacher  and  frequently clumsy fool.   

FAMILY

I had one child per decade in the 8Os, 90s and 00s.  I am so proud of my boys and girl.  My eldest boy lives in the US and it’s been way too long since I last saw him.  Of course I was all ready to visit last year…. My other son is very proud of his Scottish heritage and would return to live on that side of the world in a heartbeat, despite being 7 when he left.  My  youngest, my feisty daughter,  from whom I learn so much, is  the sensible one out of the two of us. She loves being an Australian and  she, indeed all of my kids, are making the best of their lives.  One lucky proud mum here!

TEAMWORK 

I’ve been married for 25 years to a diamond of a man.  I have never lacked for love and support.  He is a whip smart guy, who would probably make a good writer or even a great one.  He prefers to direct his energies to learning a complex second language.

This is a wee story  about me and of course my family is central to that tale, however more detail about the stranger that is me.  

WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES  

I never mean any harm, ever,  that doesn’t mean I haven’t unleashed some from time to time.  Then I hate myself for years, and struggle to recognise I’m not usually the sole contributor to disaster.  

MIND GAMES 

I enjoy and also get obsessive  about trying to fathom the Gordian knot of human interactions.  Although I did complete degrees in Social Policy and Education I didn’t carry on my  University study of psychology due to my fear of doing an exam in statistics which was a requirement… but I really wanted to dive more deeply into that realm. 

However there are other ways…

ALL THE WORLD’S A STAGE

I  spend a lot of time getting into the minds of others as an actress and let’s be honest, a nosy person.  But probably mining the depths of my own junkyard of a brain, trying to tidy or at least impose some order in there informs a lot of my writing and performance. 

A few years ago some friends of mine and I were lamenting the lack of  theatre roles for minority groups, older women for example, and in my case one who still felt like a kid or a teenager inside (and who sometimes acted accordingly) Anyway we decided to create our own  opportunities and that’s how Orange Theatre Au Theatre Group was born.  We opened our group up to anyone who loved to act and we built up a fantastic ensemble cast. It’s not something I ever expected to be doing at the pointy end of life, but we pulled it off.

WE’RE ALL STUCK WITH THIS

The pandemic has brought our fairly successful run of oddball shows to a hopefully temporary halt.

HELP

But thank goodness, then, for writing.  I began with monologues, they snowballed into short plays and articles.  In lockdown I tried my hand at fiction and poetry too and I’m having a ball with it all.  

I’m very fortunate to have supportive family and friends and am so happy to be part of this writing community   I wish I’d been doing this some years ago.. but better late than never. I guess.

I do hope you enjoy my poems, articles and stories.  Pleased to meet you all!

 

humanity
16

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.