Humans logo

A Waiter in the Pandemic

Dressing up for Guests

By theKlaunPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I like to cycle to work. I was used to not having that much Time to exercise at home, so I thought cycling to work was a good way to do it. So I got an electric bike, because, you know. To save Time.

(On an aside, pandemic has given us a gift that we all thought we had lost: Time. Very few have done anything with it, but this is a story for another time.)

I wear thermal underwear, gym trousers, a shirt and windbreaker. Because, it’s winter, you know. If it wasn’t for the cycling helmet I’d look ready to climb a mountain.

Thus I cycle to work. I reach my destination from the back (so no one can see that managers ride bikes instead of driving cars). I enter the changing room.

(Changing rooms in hotels deserve essays written about them. Who knows, maybe one day.)

So I get changed. Nice trousers, shirt that I have carefully ironed and even more carefully folded in a way not to crease during the half an hour journey. (‘Carefully’ is quite ironic, I admit, as I put the effort but the results are often… creased.) Polished shoes on (For ‘polished,’ please see above comment about ‘carefully’… it’s all about the effort). And then I tie my black tie, which I normally tie loosely beforehand because tying a tie when you are late is like trying to hang yourself. And finally, I am almost there, I put on my mask. Because it’s the pandemic, isn’t it. I protect myself and others.

I greet and swear (synonyms for some), at my colleagues, hide my bike and get the bar set and any other preparations needed. I am on my own serving food tonight because we are Tiered and I can barely serve food to myself. I am all ready, here we go, my first customer of the night…

… does not wear a mask. He approaches, he keeps approaching. He stands by the bar. Just the bar between us. And my mask. He talks to me, asks questions about the drinks. He leans forward, I instinctively step back (because Covid-19 has renewed our instincts both for the preservation of our genes and for suicide), I casually lean on a shelf behind me hoping he hasn’t realised I am escaping him. I nod while he talks for half an hour, without a mask, about herd immunity and Covid-19.

(I was not born in England, I came here as an adult. I never believed when I was told small talk in the country is mostly about the weather, talk about the weather and everything will be fine. Yeah, it’s damn true. But now there’s a new topic, Covid-19! Pity it was new almost a year ago. Why would I want to listen to the one subject everyone is talking about? What’s new? Do you honestly believe you are going to tell me something I haven’t heard already? Do you honestly know so much that you are allowed not to wear a mask because you know better? The pandemic has made arrogance sin number 1. Everyone is a doctor, a virologist and an economist!)

But I do get it. He is lonely. He has probably been away from his family for some days. Or maybe he has no family. But he is alone right now and I am the only human being around. In a while he is going to go to his room and see no one till the morning. I get that. Hospitality was all about experience and all that we are supposed to experience now is isolation. So I stay there deftly avoiding any spitting letters, Matrix-style. And I even manage to smile, because, you know, we can see your smile even if you wear a mask, sir.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

theKlaun

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.