Humans logo

A PERSONAL WORD

Love Language chapter 11

By safrasPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
A PERSONAL WORD
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

In chapter 2, I warned the reader that “understanding the five love languages and learning to speak

the primary love language of your spouse may radically affect his or her behavior.” Now I ask, “What

do you think?” Having read these pages, walked in and out of the lives of several couples, visited

small villages and large cities, sat with me in the counseling office, and talked with people in

restaurants, what do you think? Could these concepts radically alter the emotional climate of your

marriage? What would happen if you discovered the primary love language of your spouse and chose

to speak it consistently?

Neither you nor I can answer that question until you have tried it. I know that many couples who

have heard this concept at my marriage seminars say that choosing to love and expressing it in the

primary love language of their spouse has made a drastic difference in their marriage. When the

emotional need for love is met, it creates a climate where the couple can deal with the rest of life in a

much more productive manner.

We each come to marriage with a different personality and history. We bring emotional baggage

into our marriage relationship. We come with different expectations, different ways of approaching

things, and different opinions about what matters in life. In a healthy marriage, that variety of

perspectives must be processed. We need not agree on everything, but we must find a way to handle

our differences so that they do not become divisive. With empty love tanks, couples tend to argue and

withdraw, and some may tend to be violent verbally or physically in their arguments. But when the

love tank is full, we create a climate of friendliness, a climate that seeks to understand, that is willing

to allow differences and to negotiate problems. I am convinced that no single area of marriage affects

the rest of marriage as much as meeting the emotional need for love.

The ability to love, especially when your spouse is not loving you, may seem impossible for

some. Such love may require us to draw upon our spiritual resources. A number of years ago, as I

faced my own marital struggles, I rediscovered my need for God. As an anthropologist, I had been

trained to examine data. I decided to personally excavate the roots of the Christian faith. Examining

the historical accounts of Christ’s birth, life, death, and resurrection, I came to view His death as an

expression of love and His resurrection as profound evidence of His power. I became a true

“believer.” I committed my life to Him and have found that He provides the inner spiritual energy to

love, even when love is not reciprocated. I would encourage you to make your own investigation of

the one whom, as He died, prayed for those who killed Him: “Father, forgive them for they know not

what they do.” That is love’s ultimate expression.

The high divorce rate in our country bears witness that thousands of married couples have been

living with an empty emotional love tank. The growing number of adolescents who run away from

home and clash with the law indicates that many parents who may have sincerely tried to express love

to their children have been speaking the wrong love language. I believe that the concepts in this book

could make an impact upon the marriages and families of our country.

I have not written this book as an academic treatise to be stored in the libraries of colleges and

universities, although I hope that professors of sociology and psychology will find it helpful in

courses on marriage and family life. I have written not to those who are studying marriage but to those

who are married, to those who have experienced the “in love” euphoria, who entered marriage with

lofty dreams of making each other supremely happy but in the reality of day-to-day life are in danger

of losing that dream entirely. It is my hope that thousands of those couples will not only rediscover

their dream but will see the path to making their dreams come true.

I dream of a day when the potential of the married couples in this country can be unleashed for

the good of humankind, when husbands and wives can live life with full emotional love tanks and

reach out to accomplish their potential as individuals and as couples. I dream of a day when children

can grow up in homes filled with love and security, where children’s developing energies can be

channeled to learning and serving rather than seeking the love they did not receive at home. It is my

desire that this brief volume will kindle the flame of love in your marriage and in the marriages of

thousands of other couples like you.

If it were possible, I would hand this book personally to every married couple in this country

and say, “I wrote this for you. I hope it changes your life. And if it does, be sure to give it to someone

else.” Since I cannot do that, I would be pleased if you would give a copy of this book to your family,

to your brothers and sisters, to your married children, to your employees, to those in your civic club

or church or synagogue. Who knows, together we may see our dream come true.

For a free on-line study guide please visit:

http://www.fivelovelanguages.com

The study guide was designed to take the concepts from The Five Love Languages book and teach

you how to apply them to your life in a practical way. There is one page of study notes per chapter.

For couple or group studies and discussion groups

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.