Humans logo

A Neighbourly Deed

Dogs and smiling faces

By Georgia AnsteyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Neighbourly Deed
Photo by Margo Brodowicz on Unsplash

My Neighbours were non-stop, before lockdown hit the country, filling up their days with gardening visiting their friends and walking their dog. They still tend to their beautiful flowers, however they were in need of a dog walker, as they are quite elderly and don't really have the strength to walk her in the afternoons. A lady from across the road offered them help, which she did for a couple of weeks, however something came up in her life and unfortunately had to give up the job. We had been in lockdown for a while and knowing that they needed someone to help, I did not hesitate to offer my services, as they have been so kind to us in the past 20 years, they are like my third set of grandparents, plus I am a massive dog lover.

The dogs name is Mia, a beautiful Jack Russell, who always wags her tail when I come to take her out, it always brings joy to my face to see her running across the grass every day. One day when I went to collect Mia, my neighbour kindly asked if I would take a letter to the mailbox as its quite a long walk from where they live, so I said of course and now every time there is a letter to be posted they always ask if I mind posting that, they do not need to because I never mind doing it for them. I honestly think the time they were most grateful was at Christmas time because they wanted to wish everyone who live nearby a Happy Christmas and New Year, but they could not go out and deliver Christmas cards. While on a dog walk, I set out on a hunt for certain houses as I held the cards in my hands in absolutely freezing temperatures, it was quite a difficult hunt as I have never memorized many of the house numbers on the next street over, but as usual I was happy to help.

They get a little worried over the weather especially rain, not because the dog won’t get walked, but because I would get soaking wet, however I don’t mind I tell them, I will just put my waterproofs on and take Mia down onto the grass where she like to run. Knowing the dog has had her run is amazing but, Its more amazing seeing the smiles of my neighbours every time I bring Mia back into the house. I say bring her back into the house but what really happens is the lead clicks of her collar and she sprints up the garden steps and jumps into the house, knowing that her treats are waiting for her with her owners. It is just so lovely to help them because they are always so grateful, its actually quite funny and sweet how many times they say thank you to me and how grateful they are for helping them. Though I do not think it is just about the dog walking, in these times where you can’t see many people, I think they really enjoy seeing someone else’s face during the day and to have a small conversation with. They always ask how I am and how my family are, they are just legit loving people who deserve to have some good deeds done for them. For me, I know it is only about half an hour out of my day but if its one less thing that they have to worry about doing then I’m willing to help and have a chat with them if they want to, I know that every time they say goodbye and thank you it always makes my day.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.