Humans logo

A Letter to the Heartbroken

A Little Something to Help You Get Through Another Day

By Delilah JaydePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
This letter was never written with pen and paper for the person it was intended for, and I don't think I will end up sharing it with the individual described, as we are not as close as we used to be. But it felt right to share, and I hope that at the very least that it helps get you through whatever it is that is coming up next in your corner of the Universe.

-----

Dear friend. I considered writing this letter a few times, but I wasn't quite sure what to say to someone as strong as I know you are. "I know how you feel" and "don't worry you'll be alright" seems a little bit like I am overdoing it, and when I heard about what happened, my heart cracked and I lost a little bit of my voice that day.

Now you know what it's like to fall in love, to share an open door with someone who touches you so gently and so fully that they could change a few light bulbs in your soul and your life would be a little brighter by it. You could open the windows and gentle sunlight will stream in through the curtains, warm and embracing. They will sweep you off your feet, not knowing how to be gentle enough to care for your fragile heart. We let this heartbreak wear us down, sapping our beautiful energy and making it so that it is difficult just to get out of bed in the morning. At times even a cup of coffee or a home cooked meal is hard to digest, because trying to reason with yourself about what has happened has worn out your voice. I could tell you from the bottom of my broken heart that they were so incredibly wrong for hurting you, and I might just be right. But the Universe insisted that you try a small taste of grief, and I wish I could have been there to warn you about how much it was going to hurt.Heartbreak is a hungry creature that swallows the silence in our heads in one bite, the sound of our own voices unfulfilled and desperate, draining the countless cups of tears we shed for the partners we thought we knew. And when it happens again, we try to remind ourselves that the scars make your skin a little bit stronger every time, and that wishing and longing is just that: a gentle fragment of the mind that we pray comes back for just a little while longer. It's hard, and it takes a tested kind of strength to make it through to the next Chapter.I hope that this letter reminds you that no matter the trials you are facing today, that we must not give away the music in our souls, and to be sure not to let any of our past harm the potential future. We must get back up each painful time, no matter how many bruises and scratches we endure, so that we can still approach the world and our relationships with hope, love, and kindness. Most of all, we must be selective with whom we choose to share our body, spirit, and soul with next time around. I just want you to know that I wrote this letter to tell you that I admire your bravery, I respect the decisions you're making for yourself, and I'm here to support you if you need me. I know you're probably doing just fine, and that you already know nothing can truly keep you down for long. But I hope that you also know how I feel about you and that if you need someone to lean on, I'll be here. Yours with love, D.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Delilah Jayde

You can follow her on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/iamdelilahjayde

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.