Humans logo

A Letter About Life That Everyone Should Read

I encourage everyone to be more open and thankful for the smallest things and people they have

By Mohamed Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2

You don’t choose to have cancer. You don’t choose to be born poor, you don’t choose to have parents with criminal records, you don’t choose to be LGBTQ+. You don’t choose to have a physical or mental disability, you don’t choose to be born in an abusive family…you don’t choose all that, but you can choose to be happy. Embrace who you are and be happy — today before tomorrow.

The world is a cruel place. Please take good care to pad your heart, and always carry a lot of bandages with you. But the world is also kind, so kind sometimes. Make sure you share a piece of yourself with every human being you meet.

The majority of the time, people who are close to us, our family or friends, don’t necessarily need advice or specific help in times of trouble. Sometimes, they just need to be reminded about their worth when they forget about it — a great human act.

Missing yourself is another way of feeling homesick, except that you never know if you will go back home again. Hugging yourself is the best form of compassion. Make sure to work on yourself and to be able to find your home again whenever you are lost in this life.

They usually say that it’s very beneficial to not keep our hurts to ourselves, to address our issues and pains instantly — mainly to avoid overthinking, which can lead to serious mental disorders. Therefore, I would like to kindly apologize for everyone:

A person that I really needed to insult back, but couldn’t.

A person that I needed to deny their cold behavior, but preferred to accept it.

A person that I had to remove from all my social media accounts when it was needed, but didn’t.

A person that I needed to cut out of my life when it was necessary, but preferred to give them several chances.

To every fake friend I needed to walk away from their friendship early, but couldn’t.

To every situation where I needed to be assertive and advocate for my self, but preferred to stand the abuse.

To every sick behavior I had to tolerate, when I needed to hit the person or scream at his face, but preferred to remain silent.

To every person I loved, and I had to remove from my memory early, but preferred to remain faithful to the bonds.

To every person who was triggering my tears, but made me think instead that they were triggering my joy.

To every person who avoided me, but I kept chasing. While I had to walk away immediately, and hug myself instead.

To every behavior against my mental health and well-being that needed to be taken seriously.

Life is short. Sometimes we get so busy that we forget to check up on people who are close to us, people who influenced our lives in a direct or an indirect way. We love these people, as some of them taught us how to start reading and writing, or helped us find our way in life when nothing was going well. Therefore, I decided to get in touch with 3 people of my family/friends the beginning of each month to remind them how much I value these people and how important they were for my growth and progress in life.

Showing my gratitude is always a fulfilling act to do, and I encourage everyone to be more open and thankful for the smallest things and people they have.

advice
2

About the Creator

Mohamed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.