Humans logo

A happy woman

A happy woman

By guliPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

People say I am a happy man: I have a diploma, I work at a university, and I am married to a wonderful husband. My husband and I dream of a bright future. We want two boys and a girl. This eldest son has been a grade one, the youngest son is still in the nursery, the daughter - kindergarten.

Our days are thriving, thriving, happy family, beaming. We wash clothes together, iron swaddling clothes, run to the store, work together, relax together... I travel every summer, watching my kids grow up. All of a sudden, there was a thunderclap, and my husband came home and said,

"I beg your pardon! As a man of integrity, I have to tell you that I am in love with someone else... Love is! She's a college student I teach... It's too complicated. But I do love my children! I will pay for their upbringing! You probably want to see the kids more often, too? Well, you might as well keep on with them as you are..."

You see, how happy it is!

Perhaps from pain, perhaps from self-pity, I could not utter a word, not even a tear. I couldn't sleep, I stared at the children all night, thinking, thinking... In the early hours of the morning I quietly packed my bag with the things I needed most, kissed the children, and went out and left the house. Before I left, I left a note for my husband: "I really love my children! I will pay for their care!"

My husband searched everywhere but found no trace of me. I didn't let anyone "share" my pain, leaving my friends and family with the impression that I was still a happy woman. I would be happy if I could see my husband sledge my little son to nursery and my daughter to kindergarten in the morning. I wanted to go home with him, take care of my son's dinner and drop him off at school on the way to work. In the evening, the husband made a mess of it all. I tried to imagine that they were going up the stairs, and the husband was habitually moving from his hand

After searching for the key in the bag for a long time, the door was still open. The children cried out, "It's a mess!" -- They rushed to their father... Noisy, screaming, whining, whining! However, all this happened without my presence! STH over and over again!

One day, as I lingered on the landing, I heard my daughter's voice:

"Father, father! Why has my mother been away on business for so long? Is she an astronaut already?"

I secretly thanked my husband for the white lie he told the children.

But why did he say nothing? Where is his love? Is that love? From the teaching and Research office? Female college students...

I met her out of the blue. She was waiting for me in the street. Gorgeous, beautiful! Her dress was flamboyant and dazzling. It was impossible to pass her without noticing her. A strong smell of French perfume hit me in the face, and she said, a little confused:

"I want to talk to you."

"About what?"

"About your children... On the day you left, your husband called me and said you took the right attitude! But...... He won't let me in the house. He promised on the phone to meet me after my class. However, from a long way away, he shouted at me: 'The date is over! The little girl has a sore throat! We have to get her back from kindergarten! The next appointment was spoiled by the younger son, who was informed by the nursery that they were in quarantine and gave his father a certificate of illness from Nursing Sick Children. Then the eldest son got another failing grade in the score book... The children had a chain reaction as if they had discussed it. Unexpected things happened every day, one after another: toothache -- the father quickly took the eldest son to the clinic, the soles of his boots were torn -- and then went to the shoe workshop... Run to the store for food... He was always so busy... The gloves were not washed every day until your daughter spoke. She said, 'Mother always tied them to a little string so that they wouldn't run away... 'They walk and play, but I stand far away! I really could not bear it any longer:

"' Child, child! The children alone! Me? '

"' You'd better never be a mother to anyone else's child! 'he thrust at me fiercely.

"' Children should be raised by their own mother, 'I blurted out.' They need a mother's love, a mother's care. '

"' Why don't you need a real father? 'he cried.' The children need their father's wisdom, his experience of strength... '

"He can't go on. It dawned on me: this was the end. My illusions were shattered, my hopes dashed... Everything about me had already flown out of his mind. All that remains is yours: your children, your family, your warmth..."

She said something else, but I couldn't hear it. My heart was so calm, but my mind was thinking fiercely: "I am a business trip? That is to say, bring back gifts!" So I took all kinds of toys, candy -- everything, almost everything that was on display in the store -- and I opened the lovely door.

"Mother! Dear mother! Mom -!" My children kept rushing at me, Shouting, "There you are!"

"Not coming back, but landing!"

"Dad! Dad! Our mother has come home! But why are you both crying? Aren't you happy?"

"We are happy. Very, very..."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.