Humans logo

A Blunt Letter to Entitled People

Sit down and shut up, you're not as special as you think you are.

By Christina ScanlonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Entitled - verb (used with object), en•ti•tled, en•ti•tling.

To give (a person or thing) a title, right, or claim to something; furnish with grounds for laying claim.

What makes a person entitled? What gives them a reason to demand that they have something right this instant? Is it selfishness? Is it a sort of self-loathing and a need to fill some sort of void in one’s life to be obnoxiously demanding of something that someone has, and then go completely insane when denied, and keep in mind that the majority of those who act holier-than-thou, I deserve everything, f$#@ your needs, tends to be middle-aged people; adults who most likely have full-time jobs or careers, possibly families, so why the spoiled brat behavior? Why is this such a problem?

Recently, I had the unfortunate experience of witnessing blatant entitlement first hand. I was in a wholesale store, signing up for their club membership when a middle-aged woman at one of the self check-outs was having a problem with something and I was in the middle of signing up; long story short, this woman yelled at the manager who was helping me, demanding someone come over this very instant and help her. She was shut down quick; the manager took no shit and the woman (who was eventually helped by another employee) got—real—quiet, hopefully finally realizing she was in the wrong, and that rudeness and entitlement will get you nowhere, and you’ll just be making a fool of yourself.

I’m going to be blunt: You’re not special, you’re no better than the person next to you, stop acting like everyone is below you. It doesn’t matter how much you make, what you drive, how big your house is. We’re all human. No one is better than anyone else in my opinion. Most people are more successful than others, and this is unfortunately inevitable; the totem pole of status has always been a thing, and it shouldn’t be in my opinion. I understand that people have needs, but some people take it a bit too far and don’t care about others, just themselves, and that breaks my heart. People need to be kind of one another, help out your fellow man, stop being selfish. Were you coddled as a child? Not enough attention? Did you mom tell you that you were special one too many times and possibly that’s where your entitlement came from? Let me tell you something that I learned a hard lesson from—The world is not kind, no one gives a shit about your feelings, and your little temper tantrum because you can’t get what you want is pathetic and childish, so sit down and shut up, you’re embarrassing yourself.

Every time I see or hear someone being entitled, it tends to hurt my brain. I can’t wrap my head around how someone thinks so highly of themselves that they just push everyone aside so they can get to what they are focused on, not caring about the repercussions and how it makes them look. It’s said that you shouldn’t care what other’s think, that no one’s opinion should matter except your own. People with entitlement issues take this to the extreme, just completely oblivious to the fact that their actions are not hurting others. I consider myself to be a nice person, always willing to help others... so seeing someone who thinks they deserve the world be handed to them on a silver platter not only makes me mad, but it breaks my heart that someone could be so cold and conniving. What gives you the right to be this way? I hope to answer that question someday.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Christina Scanlon

41 year old introvert and professional procrastinator. I love video games and writing as it is therapy for my mental illness. I hope you read my stories and share them with your friends!

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.