Humans logo

#2020Rewind

Reflecting on the year that was and wasn’t

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

2020 has been a difficult year for all of us. We thought that this year would be amazing, but unfortunately, the coronavirus outbreak was top news everywhere. I’m not going to talk about the pandemic, because I’ve talked about it in previous stories and stated my opinions. I know for a fact that people are tired of hearing about 24/7 and want to resume their normal lives again. The pandemic has taken a toll on millions of people, especially those who are currently suffering from mental illnesses. Also, because there’s rarely any positive stories in the media reported that’s not related to COVID-19. Instead, I’m going to share my three best moments from this year and a story about family. These are not in any particular order.

This past summer, I got an opportunity to interview Naoise O’Hare, a retro gaming lover from Dublin, Ireland. His video game collection, based on his Instagram posts, is out of this world. The one item of his that I’ve been fascinated about was the Atomic Purple Game Boy Color. As a retro gamer myself, his posts are the reason why I follow him on Instagram. To see his collection, follow his page on there @retro_gamer_ireland.

The beginning of 2020 started with the most anticipated interview. Luke Bogg, also known as The Geek of Steel, is a die-hard fan of Superman. He has interviewed wonderful people such as Zachary Levi from Shazam! and Kevin Smith. Plus, sharing his experiences about the Superman Celebration, which is held yearly in Illinois. Not only that, but he has a podcast called The Podcast of Steel, where he speaks with celebrities and comic creators. Luke has over 30,000 followers on Instagram and has over 500 Superman related items. His outgoing personality has captivated his social media audience and presence. Be sure to follow him on his social media pages and check out his podcast.

Back in April, I finally came out of the closet to my estranged parents after almost 10 years of not telling them. However, it was in an open letter I wrote to them on Vocal. In that letter, I wrote how badly they have treated me since childhood and into my early 20s: being verbally and physically abused on a regular basis and also was never allowed me to be myself. To get a better idea of who my estranged parents were, they’re devout Christians and from the African country of Liberia. In other words, they’ll never accept the fact that they have a gay son. As the years progressed, I realized that just because someone is family, it doesn’t mean that they really love you or you having to tolerate being disrespected by them.

Family can be toxic and full of drama. Parents are the children’s first bullies. That’s why I had to cut off many relatives and my young sister out of my life, because they were making excuses for my parents’ behavior and not calling them out on it. It’s never selfish to cut ties with toxic people who continue to belittle and devalue you. Never apologize for wanting to be around positive people, especially those who want you to succeed. If you’re struggling with disapproving parents, remember that it’s not your fault. It’s their loss, because they never really loved you. Abuse is abuse, whether it’s physical or verbal. They don’t deserve to be called parents, because real parents accept and love their children unconditionally.

I’m in a much better place now and grateful to have friends who really loves and appreciates me. I have no regrets for coming out, because I had to lie and hide my sexuality from everyone for almost 20 years. I’m living my own life the best that I can. I haven’t found Mr. Right yet, but in all due time, he’ll be sweeping me off my feet. For now, I’ll be patient.

In late February, I attended the Fayetteville Comic Show in Fayetteville, Arkansas. This was the first and only con I went to all of 2020. Guests such as C. Thomas Howell from The Outsiders and John Wesley Shipp were in attendance for the two day event. Two of the best moments from that weekend was meeting John Wesley Shipp three different times, especially during a photo op I did with him (pictured above). If you’re unfamiliar of who he is, he was in the 90s tv show, The Flash, playing the titular character. It was a pleasure meeting him and had a great time with my friends as well. I’m looking forward to hanging out with them again in 2021.

In closing, I want to say thanks to those who have supported me during these difficult times. I’m not going to dwell on the you know what. The thing that shall not be named and should not be mentioned again. There were a few bright spots that happened this year: moving to a new town, getting a Spider-Man suit, celebrating 10 years in Arkansas, and being so well-liked on TikTok. Miles Morales was a huge hit and I owe it all to that cosplay. As of this story, I’m nearing 20,000 followers on there and showing no signs of slowing down. I have not one, but two cosplays coming in 2021. Follow me on my social media pages (all the info to those are in my bio) and if you loved this story or any others I’ve previously written, feel free to send me a one-off tip, big or small. Every bit helps and will encourage me to write better stories. Have a safe and prosperous 2021.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.