Humans logo

20 Things I've Learned in 20 Years

A Guide to Life from a Young Adult

By Avery JohansonPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
20 Things I've Learned In 20 Years

With the end of the year coming, I thought I'd share 20 things that I've learned in the past 20 years of my life.

1. It's okay to not be okay.

In the world of social media, there are a lot of expectations of us these days. We capture what we want to capture in our every day lives to make it seem perfect. But what if it's not? What if you're secretly a mess with anxiety and depression and PTSD, and just trying to get by in life? That's okay. The fact that you have made it this far is incredible and brave.

2. Everyone has their own insecurities.

I'm still trying to get a grip on this myself, but I am putting it on this list. In this technological era, it's not hard to imagine that so many people have insecurities about themselves. But, people put up such a front that makes it seem like they don't.

3. Everyone goes at their own pace.

Even at 20 years old, I've met tons of different people of all walks of life. People who have worked a 9-5 their entire life and got filthy rich from it. Others who work on social media and make it seem so easy. I've met people who are almost 30 and still figuring their selves out. Everyone goes at their own pace. No one is higher or lower than you because they are going on a different path than you. Don't be so hard on yourself if you're going slower than everyone else. It's okay.

4. Therapy is a great thing.

I've only gone to therapy for a short time in my 20 years, but the time I did go therapy, it was a really great experience. Even though I was paying someone to diagnose me, it felt good to get things off my chest that I never told to anyone. Mental illness makes you think that you're crazy and that others will think you're crazy, when that's not always the case. If you have mental illness, you should treat it, or find a way to treat it before it gets worse.

5. Self-love takes time.

This one is pretty self explanatory.

6. Anxiety is real and it sucks sometimes.

I've come to learn the real affects that my anxiety has had on my life. It's taken a real toll on my every day life at times, which is why I went to therapy in the first place. Anxiety IS real. It doesn't make you a freak because you deal with it. It makes you human.

7. I am, and will always be, an introvert.

In a psychology class in high school, I took the Myers-Brigg's Personality test. My result was INFJ, the 'I' standing for introvert. I've always known I was an introvert, because I was so different from my other classmates. I always avoided public places like they were the plague. Even in college I did this, (even though I had better friends in college).

8. Just because you listen to K-Pop, does not make you a weirdo.

I listen to K-Pop. K-Pop has become a big part of my life. I'm proud to be a K-Pop fan. And no one can change that.

9. Tattoos are cool.

I love tattoos. Tattoos are one of my favorite things in life to research and get. It's a form of self-expression that is completely unique to the wearer.

10. Self-expression is important.

Finding a way to express yourself is one of the most important things in this life, at least it is for me. I need a way to express myself, it's why I'm a content creator and artist. I love art, and everything in the artist world. Music, painting, graphic design, YouTube, photography, all of it. Having that niche that makes you the happiest to do, is one of the best things in this world and should be way more valued than it is.

11. It's okay to be different.

It is okay to step outside of the norm of what everyone else is doing. Be yourself. Show who you are and own it. You will find people who love you for who you really are, rather than the mask you put on.

12. Drinking is overrated.

Being almost 21, I thought I'd put this in here. I don't drink, and I don't plan on drinking (or at least, I don't plan on drinking much). I've had sips of wine and beer from my parents (in our house, with their permission), and it's still not suitable for my tastebuds. Kinda leaves a bad taste in my mouth, to be honest. I have no interest in drinking when I'm older.

13. Travel is one of the best things in the world.

I have the travel bug. I always have loved to travel, even as a kid on family road trips. I've been around most of the United States. My goal before I'm 30 is to hit every single state, and then travel internationally. Traveling is so freeing and makes you realize just how beautiful the world can really be.

14. Reading is amazing.

It stimulates the brain and keeps you busy. What could go wrong?

15. If You're Addicted to Social Media, It's Okay.

We live in a world of technology that is constantly growing, and that stands for the social platforms we use on a daily basis. I spend most of my time on my phone and/or laptop, scrolling through socials (partially because I'm a social media marketer). I'd rather be addicted to social media than something that would be detrimental to my health.

16. I am not conventional.

I've never been good at the things that are considered "conventional." I was not good at math or sciences, like my parents wanted me to be. I never wanted to be a scientist or a mathematician. My dream job is to do something that allows me to be creative everyday, and I don't really have a set title because of that. Because anything can be considered creative.

17. Not everyone is going to like you. And that is okay.

I realized this from the very beginning, but it's still been an obstacle to hurtle over. Once you do realize this, life becomes much easier.

18. Save. Your. Money.

My parents have drilled this in my head since the day I was born. Saving money is such an important thing to do. I cannot stress this enough.

19. Being a girl-nerd is NOT a bad thing.

John Green said it best. "Gentlemen, nerd girls are the world's greatest under-utilized romantic source. Do not tell me that nerd girls aren't hot because that shows a Paris Hilton-esque failure to understand hotness."

20. You don't have to have it all figured out.

Nobody has life completely figured out. Especially not at my age. I don't know if I will ever have it figured out, but I'm trying.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.