Horror logo

Why Me?

Chapter 1: Something In The Way

By Marc Anthony DemmePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why Me?
Photo by Nathan Wright on Unsplash

I can't say for certain why things happened the way they did, but of course, things always tend to go wrong in my life. I was someone once loved, once called a friend, and I was even called a father. My life wasn't the best but was pretty well most of the time. However, when that summer happened everything went sideways.

Like the rest of the country, I became sick and ended up dying. I got to say dying happened faster than I thought it would. I have a feeling my parents-in-law were happy a deadbeat like I died, but I bet they weren't happy when I quickly rose from the grave and ate them. Luckily my daughter was far away to see that.

So that's what I am. I'm a literal zombie. My flesh rots more every day, and my hunger grows stronger. I used to have a lush of long blonde hair, but now it was mostly falling out. I think my arm also fell off, but it's hard to tell when my thoughts lay somewhere else.

Despite being a zombie, I have one goal. To find my daughter and make sure she is okay. I have one problem though. One very huge obstacle stands in my way. It's a door. I've been locked in this janitor's room at the local high school in my hometown just east of Los Angeles, California. I don't remember the name of my hometown.

Anyway, I was trapped here because I saw that tastiest of humans hiding under a bridge. Like usual when I find prey, I quickly dashed at them with others like me. I was right on their trail when they locked me in here.

I don't think the group made it far though. I swear I could hear their screams, and their flesh being ripped apart. I'm sure my fellow zombies cornered them in one of the classrooms and that was the end of them.

All I could do is moan very loudly and slam the door with my decaying body. Every slam hurt like hell though, and I think it's making me fall apart. I need to get out of here. The thought of my daughter being attacked by these zombies angered me. I had to do something.

All of a sudden, I could hear running. The running of living humans. A thought came to me. If I moan they'll know I'm a zombie, and won't open the door. I had to talk like them. I had to try my best.

"Rrrgghh," I growled softly trying to say a word. "Rrraarrgghh." This was impossible. Another thought came to mind. Instead of talking, I should knock on the door. That's what normal people do to get attention.

Then, with all my might I pretty much yanked up my fist and knocked on the door twice. I chuckled a little. This reminded me of when I knocked on people's doors. I don't what for, but I think it was for something important.

"Hey Sophie," whispered a distant soft voice coming down the hallway. "I think I heard someone knocking."

With delight, I realized they had heard me. This could be my escape. I knocked again, and I heard them run to the door. Please, please let me out.

"It came from here," said a young woman. "Hello, is there anyone behind here? Do you need help?" I was filled with glee as I knocked again making sure I didn't growl. Now thoughts of eating these humans came to my mind. Sinking my teeth in their flesh and drinking their blood was going to amazing. No, I had to be strong and just run.

"Okay," said the person again. "We'll let you out. Step back though or we'll shoot you." A wave of fear swept through my body. They were definitely going to shoot me if I opened the door. I would do the same thing if I saw a zombie.

The two humans quickly opened the door and saw no one looking at them. I was laying on the ground with my face buried in the dirt keeping quiet. I really hoped they wouldn't notice me. "Serena," said Sophie. "There's no one in here except a dead body."

I peeked to see two young women. They were about the same small height and wore ragged unwashed clothing. Sophie had blonde hair tied in a ponytail while Serena had short dark brown hair. They looked like sisters.

"Do you think it was a ghost than of this poor dude?" asked Serena glowing the flashlight on my head. Sophie looked around and said, "Who knows." They took a few things and left. I peeked to make sure the coast was clear.

When it did I realized that the door was finally opened. I was a free man able to go wherever I pleased. I quickly got up, but suddenly I heard gunfire and running. The two humans jetted in and slammed the door behind them. A fellow zombie pursued them knocked on the door trying to get in. I sank to the floor again. Of course, something like this had to open. I really hope these girls can escape soon. The hunger for their flesh sharply intensified throughout my whole body.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.