Horror logo

Therapy for the Fae

Goblins, witches, and dragons, oh my...

By Leah DeweyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Therapy for the Fae
Photo by Vinícius Henrique Photography on Unsplash

Therapy For The Fae

I stood off to the side of the room watching the sun set lazily out the window. Her raze glistened and held tightly to the trees and the tall grass as if trying to make sure to leave a lasting impression. As if reminding the rest of the world that it couldn’t survive without her. I pulled my cardigan tighter as I crossed my arms over my chest.

“I read this quote in a book once that said: ‘children don’t need to be told dragons exist. Children already know dragons exist. They need to be told dragons can be defeated.’ I can’t remember who said it-”

“I believe it was G.K. Chesterton,” Dr. Anderson replied. I nodded.

“What a strange name, but yes that sounds familiar. I can’t help but think while I agree with Chesterton’s statement I think what he meant was ‘monsters’, not dragons. Dragons are seriously misunderstood creatures....” My voice trailed off as I thought about the few dragons I had known in my time.

“Have you known many dragons, Mlia?” He did his best to sound neutral, interested, even but I could hear the disbelief and sarcasm in his tone. I scoffed a bit to myself. I had long since passed the need to prove true reality to anyone unwilling to open their minds. Which was part of why even though I valued my sessions with Dr. Anderson, I knew he wouldn’t be able to help me. Not really.

“I’ve known a few. They are not as easy to come by. But dragons are good. They seek to protect and safeguard. They are humble and majestic. You know you’re in good hands when you are loved by a dragon. But monsters... well, that’s something else entirely.”

The sun had almost completely melted behind the trees now and his two modern lamps in the corner of the room were slowly becoming the only illumination.

“Have you known many monsters, then?” He asked this time seeming more concerned than anything else. I turned to look at him now. He sat, still as ever in his dark leather chair, stirring his tea and looking at me through his bifocals with a perplexed expression.

“Why do you think I’m here?”

“Do you want to tell me about them?” He asked absentmindedly sipping his tea without taking his concerned eyes off of me.

“Would you like to listen?” I asked, turning back to the quickly dying sunset.

“Isn’t this the point of our sessions, Mlia?” He questioned, seemingly confused. I shrugged and moved slowly to the large loveseat across from his desk. I picked up my own cup of tea that was finally cool enough to drink.

“I suppose. I met my first one when I was very young. I didn’t understand she was a monster at first. Most monsters, I’ve learned, have a strong ability to disguise themselves as other creatures. She said she was my fairy godmother. Though her darkened, mischievous exterior should have been a red flag.”

“If not your fairy godmother, what was she?” He asked, very intrigued now.

“She was a Devoralmes, a soul eater. They delight in bringing sadness and misery to their intended victim in order to feed off of it. Fear and pain is how they survive.” I answered with a sigh. Trying not to become overwhelmed at the reminder.

“What happened to her?”

“She did as monsters like her always do: she fed on me until I was able to recognize what was happening and pull away. Though most of the time they feed until the person dies.”

“So, she’s gone now?” He asked, hopeful.

“Oh no. She’s still very much alive and around. She has blinded the rest of the world into believing she is truly my fairy godmother. Most others see the mask and do not understand my hatred or distance. A very few who are able to see the world as it truly is, understand.”

“So she still tries to feed off of you?”

“Every day. Though I’ve learned that maintaining happiness and not allowing her to bring out sadness and fear is the key to defeating her.” I responded by sipping my chamomile tea.

“That sounds difficult,” he admitted and I nodded with a heavy breath.

“After that I discovered several of the other ‘families’ brought into my life were also monsters. One of them was a slightly less stronger version of her. One of them convinced me for a long time she was actually a unicorn.”

“A unicorn?”

“Yes, a rare, pure mystical creature made of light and love. But alas, she was just much better at the mask. So good in fact I think for a long time she forgot what she truly was and lived into the mask. But we can only run from ourselves for so long.... She was the worst of them all, really. The strongest Devoralmes, I’ve ever seen.”

“What did you do?” He questioned, fully engaged now and disbanding his disbelief.

“The only thing one can do when a monster has attached itself to you: learn its weakness and do my best to fight back and pull away.”

“That sounds challenging and exhausting.”

I laughed a little and sipped my tea with a raised eyebrow. He had no idea. There was a reason most of the town considered me a mysterious recluse.

“Well, I’m not certain why I was targeted but I do know once a monster attaches it only brings more attention from more monsters. However, even so, I was very lucky-“

“Lucky? How? So far you’ve got at least two life-sucking monsters on your back!”

I chuckled a little at his rising concern.

“Because I also had a dragon. See, as I said before dragons are special. They are one of the few creatures whose magic can completely defeat a monster. No human - magical or not could do it alone.”

“A dragon?”

“Yes, I called him Merlin. He was like an uncle or a father, even. He charmed that first monster until it fell in love with him. The stronger his influence over the monster, the less she could hurt me. He used his magical charms like this - not to make everyone fall in love - but just so everyone was under his spell enough that I was able to break free. He protected me and saved me from certain death or becoming a monster myself.”

“That can happen?”

“Oh yes, you either die at their hands or they draw out their torture long enough to turn you into one of them. Over the years I met several more monsters - monsters that could see the stains on me. A few claimed to be traveling guides and a few claimed to be lovers. I met a vampire and an incubus at the same time at one point and that was disastrous!”

“And you didn’t die from that?? Sucking your soul and your blood?” I laughed out loud and almost spit out my tea.

“Vampires don’t suck your blood. Like an incubus they suck out anything that brings you life.”

“What do you mean?” Dr. Anderson was on the edge of his seat now. Even if he didn’t believe me he was fully captivated by my journey. I smiled. Maybe he could help me, after all.

“Think of all the things you’re passionate about, all that brings you joy and makes you feel alive. They take that from you. They dull your senses and your joy, leaving you in a broken depression-like state.”

“How did you escape? I mean, you’re not trapped by them now?” He asked, confused and gestured to my semi-well put-together appearance.

“A warlock and a forest Fae found me and rescued me. One of the few times I had managed to get away, I ran into them. My senses and abilities to detect other magic around me had almost died since being trapped by the vampire and incubus. So I didn’t recognize them at first but I still knew they were special. I still felt the magic bond when the three of us were together. Once they realized the reality I was living in, their hearts cried for me. It’s a lot of suffering for one person. They pulled me out and fought for me until I was finally free. That’s why I’m here, Dr. Anderson, I’m free,” I explained. He looked puzzled and set down his tea cup before leaning back in his chair.

“If you’re free, why come to me? Why not just live your life?” He asked.

“I am a death witch. A messenger of the dead. I need to be around death, eat up people's past lives in order to survive.”

“You eat their past lives?” He asked worried and confused. I smiled.

“Why do you think so many have deja vu or feel that reincarnation is real but only have bits and fragments of their past lives?” I questioned raising an eyebrow at him.He suddenly looked panicked like he thought I might hurt him.

“What are you going to do?” He demanded weakly. I adjusted on the couch and pulled my legs up under me before drinking the last of my tea.

“Relax, Dr. Anderson, I’m not going to hurt you. I’m going to give you a message from your wife.”

“My wife? She’s been dead -”

“5 years, yes I’m aware. Katherine and I have had many chats. Our conversations are bringing me back to full power. She’s how I found you, she said you could help me. And she has a message for you.”

Dr. Anderson swallowed hard and never took his eyes away from mine.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Leah Dewey

Hello. Welcome to my page. I have been writing for over ten years & have been published in several different formats including magazine articles, poems & full length novels. I have a BA in English Literature & a Masters in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.