Horror logo

The Terror Zone

Fear the Mind

By Suzy BohiPublished 4 years ago 14 min read
Like
The shadowy cavernous pockets of the mind harbor an excruciating journey through the terror zone...

Chapter Fourteen

When we arrived at the police station, Larry was waiting outside in his car. He stepped out, and we all walked into the station together. Greg met us and walked us into one of the back offices.

“Dr. Skyler; Larry. I assume you both have a good explanation for showing up here together. I just hope it isn’t anything I’m going to be sorry for,” said Greg.

“Someone’s been following me, Greg,” said Larry.

“And, someone’s been entering Dr. Skyler’s subconscious and hurting her,” said Alex.

“He knows all about that, Alex,” I said.

“I do?” asked Greg.

“Yes. Paul and I filed a statement with Officer Stewart earlier today.”

“Could you excuse me for just a second,” said Greg, as he opened the door and stepped out.

“Ginger, where is Sam?” asked Greg.

“He was sent to fetch some donuts,” said Ginger.

“No, I mean Sam Stewart?” growled Greg.

“Oh, why didn’t you say so? He’s checking out an anonymous call about a disturbance at 735 Karen Lane. I guess someone called in saying they heard gunshots,” said Ginger.

“That’s my house,” said Greg, panicking.

Greg entered the room, pale, and said, “I have to go home.” A call came in about gunfire at my house! Don’t go anywhere, you guys. We have a lot to discuss.”

“I’m coming with you,” said Larry.

“Me too,” I said.

There were three squad cars in front of Greg’s house. Greg jumped out of his car and ran over to Officer Stewart. “What happened here?” asked Greg.

“We just arrived. We have the house surrounded, but have not yet entered the premises,” answered Officer Stewart.

“I’ll take over from here, Sam,” said Greg.

“The hell you will, this is my collar. Go find your own crime scene,” yelled Sam.

Greg just ignored Officer Stewart, and turned and headed for his house.

“Hey,” yelled Sam. “Hey, asshole,” yelled Sam,” threatening Greg as he walked toward the house.

Greg turned around, made a fist, and punched Sam in the face. “You broke my nose,” yelled Sam. “You’re going to pay for this,” he, threatened.

Greg turned around and entered the house. “Sharon, where are you?” he shouted. “Sharon, are you okay? Jamie? Chad?” shouted Greg. He walked into the living room and saw his family. He fell to his knees and said, “Thank God, you’re all right.” As we helped untie each of them, Greg questioned Sharon. “What happened, Sharon? Who did this?”

They called themselves, Roger Conn and Joseph Dade. They pushed the door in and took over. They said they were from the FBI. They even showed their badges, but I guess they lied. They said we were having a party, and they were going to entertain. I don’t know what they were talking about, but they waited here several hours. Then the kids came home. The Roger guy was going to kill us, but Joseph tied us up and shot three holes in the wall, so Roger thought we were dead! I was terrified, honey,” said Sharon. Sharon and the kids, hugged Greg.

Larry and I just looked at each other…

“Why do you two look so guilty,” asked Greg. “What do you know about this?”

“Well,” I said, “Larry and I, well, I mean…”

Greg looked at Larry with his, I’m going to kill you bro, face.

“Dr. Skyler called me on the phone, and I thought the phone was bugged, so I told her to meet me at my brother’s house. It was code, ya know? I guess the bad guys that tapped my line took it literally,” said Larry.

“You idiot,” yelled Greg. “You almost killed my family!”

“Greg, calm down,” said Paul. “It was a terrible misunderstanding, and no one, thank God, got hurt.”

“Why are these people following you Larry?” asked Greg.

“I’m doing some investigating for a client, and they obviously don’t want old ghosts dredged up,” answered Larry.

“And since I’m a cop, let me guess; this client, her name wouldn’t be, Dr. Susan Skyler? asked Greg.

“You’re so good at this Greg. You certainly chose your calling,” schmoozed Larry.

“Yeah, yeah, yeah! You two are going to be the death of me! Sharon, I have to get back to the station. Why don’t you take the kids to your mothers’ and I’ll call you later? I don’t know how long it will be, before you can come back here, so pack some things. I’ll need you to gather your thoughts though, because I have to get a good description of the two perps,” exclaimed Greg.

“Okay, sweetheart,” said Sharon, as Greg kissed his family good-bye.

Greg stuck out his pointer finger, and said, “You two, follow me to the station. I’m not done with you yet!” We looked at each other with trepidation.

Back at the station, Greg showed no mercy.

“Start at the beginning and tell me everything,” said Greg.

When we’d finished telling Greg everything we knew, he was flabbergasted. Then he walked out to Officer Stewarts' desk, ruffled around for a minute while pushing things on the floor, and found my statement folder along with Paul’s. Officer Stewart saw him filtering through his mess.

“Hey, you’re busted. Just wait until Captain Tank gets his hands on you. You’ll be busted down to traffic cop,” said Officer Stewart. “What are you doing with those files? Those are mine. Put them back!”

Greg quickly turned around and again, hit Officer Stewart in the nose. Just than Captain Tank walked in.

“See,” yelled Officer Stewart. “What did I tell you? He’s gone mad, just like I said.”

“What is this all about, Beck,” inquired Captain Tank.

“Sir, Stewart tried to stop me from entering my own residence while my family could have been killed, and now I find out, he didn’t file a report that could have cost my family and my friends their lives,” answered Greg.

“What’s that in your hand, Beck?” asked Captain Tank.

“These are only a handful of files sitting on Stewart’s desk that haven’t been filed yet!” said Beck.

“What do you have to say for yourself, Stewart?” asked Captain Tank, scanning the files.

“Sir, I thought their story was off the wall. It couldn’t have been for real.”

Captain Tank held out his hand. “What do you want?” asked Stewart.

“Your badge and your gun, for starters. You’re on suspension upon further review by Internal Affairs.”

Officer Stewart handed the captain his badge and gun, yelling “This isn’t over Beck. Not by a long shot!”

“What is with you two anyway?” asked the Captain. “You’ve never been able to get along.”

“He’s just got a hard-on for real cops,” snickered Greg. “Thanks Captain.”

“For what Beck?”

“For believing in me.”

“Yeah, I never liked him anyway,” said Captain Tank, and then he went back to his office.

Greg walked back into the room we were in and sat down. “We need some sort of plan, people. We aren’t fighting the ordinary fight, so how do we go about this?” exclaimed Greg.

“May I interject?” asked Alex, raising his hand.

“Of course,” answered Greg. “Don’t be shy. Jump in.”

“George and I figure, the only way to fight our brother is to stick together and stay by Dr. Skyler’s side. We stopped him from entering her subconscious at the hospital. We think we can do it again. Although we don’t know for how long it will work.”

“We still have to find out who the jerk-offs were that attacked my wife and family,” said Greg.

“Has everyone forgotten that I, the and all-powerful Larry, have done a little research?”

“Okay, Larry, earn your money’s worth. Tell us what you’ve found out,” said Greg.

“First, the Science of Biological Genetics and Fertility Clinic was in the business of fertility cloning, way back when. They have since redefined their biological abilities and shut down what used to be a cloning and fertility lab. It is still open as a fertility lab. There were numerous babies fertilized back when Alex and George were born. They injected the mothers with some kind of cellular cloning cocktail that was supposed to make the children stronger, smarter and more superior than other humans. But when the multiple births increased, so did other side effects they hadn’t counted on. Needless to say, some of the children were born normal, some were born with exceptional gifts, and others that weren’t so lucky were born with brain abnormalities. I would guess, your third brother was one that suffered the latter. Secondly, the scientists, doctors, and biologists, that were involved in these tests met with peculiar, untimely deaths. As far as I can tell, there are only two scientists left, still living, and they are in hiding. I located Dr. Stephen Crane. He says, “after all this time, it can’t hurt to talk to Dr. Skyler, but so far, I haven’t been able to locate doctor, slash, biologist T.N.Baxter. Possibly, those two gentlemen can answer a whole sleuth of questions that I have not yet uncovered,” finished Larry.

“Larry, you are amazing,” I said. “You are even better than your brother gave you credit for.”

“Hey now!” chirped Greg, smiling, “I told you he was good.”

“So, what I’m thinking is,” commented George, “whoever is stealing the faxes and scaring innocent bystanders has to be connected to the lab end of this fiasco. My guess is they are trying to protect whoever ordered these scientific studies.”

“Very good, George. What did you say you do?” asked Greg.

“Nothing important. I wanted to take forensics in college, but I never had the funds.”

“Larry, did you happen to find out where all the children were distributed to?” I asked.

“No,” commented Larry. “All the records were destroyed. I’ll write down Dr. Stephen Crane’s address for you. When I track down Dr. Baxter, I’ll let you know.”

“Dr. Skyler,” said Greg, “I’m ordering you and all your accomplices here not to do any more investigating on your own. Call me and fill me in, what ever the problem, and I’ll be there to help. Do I make myself clear?” he asked, looking around the room.

“I have no business,” said George.

“Me neither,” said Alex.

“Yeah, I’m pretty much done for the day, myself,” said Larry.

“Oh hell, why doesn’t everyone come to our place, and we’ll have a cookout, swim, drink heavily, and hot tub when the sun goes down?” said Paul.

“There is just one problem with that Paul,” I said. “We don’t have any beds, yet!”

“We do live a ways out from everyone. I wouldn’t feel good about sending you home after drinking, so bring your sleeping bags and whatever else you deem necessary,” said Paul.

“They all agreed to meet up at our place. Even Greg said yes, only after he talked to his wife.

“Bring her with,” I said. “The more the merrier.”

“Till eight,” said George, and off we all went.

“We need to stop and pick up some liquor, ice, and food, baby,” said Paul.

“That was a clever ploy, Paul,” I said.

“What do you mean, babe?” asked Paul.

“I know you only invited them over so they could be close enough to keep me from being taken over. It was sweet, Paul, but sooner or later, I’m not going to have them watching over me, and then what? Anyway, you heard them, they said they didn’t know how long they could be strong enough to stop brother number three.”

“I don’t know, babe. But it certainly can’t hurt to have them near while we can,” said Paul.

Back at home, the party was just beginning…

“Sweetheart, would you get the door please? My hands are a mess,” I said, as I pitted the avocados, for guacamole.

“Hello, guys,” said Paul. “Come on in and make yourself comfortable. What would like to drink?”

“I’ll have a greyhound,” said Alex.

“I’ll have the same,” said George.

“Why don’t you guys look around, while I fix your drinks,” said Paul. Meanwhile, the doorbell rang.

“George, would you get the door?” asked Paul.

“Hello, Larry,” said George.

Paul brought Alex and Georges’ drinks out to them, greeted Larry, and asked what he’d like.

I walked out to say hi to everyone, as Paul brought Larry his margarita. “I’ll take one of those too,” I said to Paul.

“I’ll get the door, honey.” I said. “Mr. and Mrs. Beck, I’m so glad you came; now we are all here safe and sound.”

“You can call me Sharon.”

“Thank you, did you bring your suits?”

“Yes, we love to hot tub,” said Greg.

“What would you like to drink, Sharon? Greg? We have just about anything you want,” I said.

“I’ll take a Margarita,” said Sharon.

“I have that too,” said Greg.

“Strawberry or regular?” I asked.

“Strawberry, said Sharon.

“Regular, said, Greg.

Paul and I gave everyone the grand tour through our mansion.

“You can all pick a room for the night,” I said.

We played ‘penny poker’ until we were all broke, except Larry. It was really hard to play with Alex though, because he kept touching people to read what they had in their hand. We all voted, he couldn’t play anymore. When we all felt sorry for him, sitting on the floor looking out the window, we changed to dice.

When we were all toasted, Sharon stood up and said, “Let’s have a séance!”

“Don’t you think that’s a little risky?” asked Alex.

“Oh, come on. It’ll be fun. Maybe we can even learn something tonight.”

“Used to be,” said Paul, “in the good ole days, that wouldn’t have scared me at all, but now,” he was shaking his head.

“Oh, you big chickens,” I teased. “I’ll play, Sharon.”

“Okay, I’m up for the challenge,” volunteered Greg, who’d had a little more to drink than the rest of us.

“Oh hell,” said Paul, me to, he giggled.

“We are all together,” said George, as he looked at Alex. “What could it hurt?”

I went to the kitchen and grabbed several candles, of all sizes and persuasion. Set them all around the party area, lit them, and turned off the lights. We formed a circle, and then we all looked at each other.

“What do we do now,” I asked.

Everyone immediately looked at Sharon.

“Guys, I said, we should play, but that doesn’t mean I know how! I’ve never done this before,” said Sharon.

“Great,” said Paul.

“Don’t go off half-cocked,” said Larry. “I did this back in college at a frat party. It’s easy.”

“Don’t we need a bottle?” asked George.

We all laughed. ‘That’s spin the bottle,” I said.

“How do you know?” asked Paul.

“Never mind, just pay attention,” said Larry. “First, everybody hold hands.”

“I can’t,” said Alex.

“Oh, it’s okay, Alex,” I said. “We’ll do something else.’"

“No, don’t quit because of me. I’ll just watch. I didn’t feel like playing anyway,” said Alex.

“Before we start chanting, we need to know who we want to contact,” said Larry.

The gang was quiet for several seconds, so Larry said, “Let’s track down Alex and George’s brother.”

Alex stood up in protest. “Absolutely not!” he yelled.

“Okay, how about my daughter?” I interjected.

“What is her name?” asked Larry.

“Lindsey,” said Paul. “But I don’t know that this is such a good idea either.”

“Please Paul,” I said. “It will be all right.”

Paul looked at Alex, Alex looked at George, and George looked at me.

“Okay,” said Paul.

“Everyone has to think about Lindsey. If you don’t know what she looks like, you can still think about her and help chant her name. Is everyone ready?” asked Larry. “All right, now close your eyes and chant.”

A cold breeze floated around the room and finally we were engulfed in an eerie chill. Alex watched our breath as we chanted.

“Lindsey,” said Larry. “Come to us. We would like to speak with you,” he said as the rest of the party chanted. “Lindsey, can you hear us?”

“Mommy, Mommy,” yelled Lindsey. Sharon was frightened and tried to pull away to break the chain, but I wouldn’t let her. “Mommy, help me.”

“Where are you, sweetheart. Tell Mommy where you are.”

“It’s too dark,” answered Lindsey. “I can’t see anything. I’ve been in the dark for a long time. Please help me, Mommy. The mean man will be back soon, and I’m so scared.”

“Baby, tell me what the mean man looks like,” I said.

“Brown short hair, and real tall. He…

“Baby? Baby, come back to Mommy. Lindsey, what’s wrong?” I pleaded.

“Don’t call me, Mommy, the bad man is here, and he’ll hurt you, if you let him in.

Someone shrieked in anger, loud and long. We all jumped. “Shit, what was that?” asked Larry.

“If you try to contact your daughter again, I’ll hurt her. Only enough to torture her, you understand. I’m not finished with her yet,” yelled something from the other side.

“No, don’t hurt my Mommy,” screamed Lindsey, and then there was silence.

Alex stood up from the floor and flipped on the light. “Enough is enough,” said Alex. “I’m going to call it a night.”

“Yeah, me too,” said George.

Sharon put her arms around me, “I’m so sorry about your daughter. I had no idea, Susan,” said Sharon.

“Come on Sharon, lets get some shut-eye. We have a big day tomorrow,” said Greg.

It was about three-thirty a.m., so we all decided to retire for the evening.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Suzy Bohi

Suzy Bohi, has two published books. 'Hush Little Babies' and 'The Terror Zone' Watch for her 2nd installment to 'The Terror Zone', titled 'Don't Say a Word'.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.