Horror logo

The Intruder

How real is reality when one is half awake or half asleep?

By Bazooka TeachesPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Making love to my love at the park. It was a nice sunny day, and no one was around. It was perfect for a session of love. It was perfect. The wind was blowing just right keeping the heat at a nice cool level. Suddenly, the whole park started moving as if an earthquake hit. I looked at my love, and she was just calling my name. With a hard stare, she just kept calling my name.

I woke suddenly in the dark, as my fiancé was shaking me. I was still half asleep. My vision was shot and could not see very clear. My fiancé’s silhouette next to me with her hand on my right shoulder was shaking me with desperation.

“What…what!”

“Shhh, there’s an intruder,” she whispered in my ear.

I did not feel right. The fact that she told me that an intruder was in the house did not register in my head quickly. It actually felt like I was asleep. It felt like she was whispering in my ears in a dark-vivid dream. I was half asleep still or half awake. Sometimes, it makes a difference which half.

Like a zombie I got up to take action. It was habitual, my actions. I just got up from a whisper in the middle of the night. I thought of Deja Vu. This has happened before. My dreams melt into my reality. I have gotten up many times half asleep or awake for something I dreamt of.

I had the aluminum bat with me already as I headed for the bedroom door. Drool came down the side of my mouth. I felt my left shoulder slightly wet from it. It seems like I had been awakened from a deep sleep. The back of my neck was slightly damp. For a minute, I paused and thought about how gross it is to sleep with all of one’s body-liquids spewing out in the middle of the night. I tried to wipe the drool from my left shoulder with my chin—it just got messy. Now my whole goat-tee was wet, dripping.

Gross!

I approached the bedroom door to open it and go into the rest of the house. My night vision was still not clear. I could see little patches of colors dancing in the darkness. They were the colors from my beautiful dream—my fiancé and I driving in a convertible by the ocean towards the everlasting sun. Wait, I was at a park this time. I think!

Oh no! Is this a dream within a dream. What was going on? Maybe, I am just half awake or half asleep. I already forgot what I was dreaming about. I just knew that it was something good. My fiance was part of it, so that was the best always.

I kept on with my half-dazed behavior. I kept hearing my fiance’s whispers coming from far away.

“There is an intruder,” her whispers kept repeating.

They were hypnotizing. They were far yet near my heart. I needed to protect her.

I opened the door to my bedroom and saw that I was in an apartment.

“What…”

I started to come to. I wasn’t in a house.

“What happened to my house?” I whispered to myself.

“There is an intruder,” the whispers kept going inside my head.

“Wait…”

I looked back, my fiance gone.

“There is an intruder,” the whispers began to fade away. They melted into the night as my vision was now very clear.

A tear ran down my cheek.

I finally realized something.

My fiancé was killed by an intruder a year ago.

-

By Bazooka Teaches

fiction
1

About the Creator

Bazooka Teaches

A regular Joe that is just surviving the struggle. Loves to write and is constantly fighting the forces of evil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.