Horror logo

The First COVID-19 Vaccine

A horror story

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Covid -19

It is true, what you have heard about there being a cure and a vaccine for COVID-19 is true. However, things in the laboratory did not quite go as planned. The Lab that was hired to find the vaccine is called Brilliant Minds Lab. I know because I was the one who had created the vaccine and it was in my lab. I was working alongside some of the most brillant minds such as Dr. Theodore Hustly, Dr. Amanda Johnston, and lastly Dr. Fredrick O'Mally. All from highly esteemed ivy league schools such as Oxford, Princeton, Harvard, Yale, Columbia. All of them were hired for their interests in science and finding the cure. However, things went horribly and terribly wrong.

We were observing how Mouse 3 was doing, it was day seven after we had injected the vaccine into his upper rib, it seemed like a prime location. The mouse was still alive, eating well and moving about his cage. Mouse 1 and 2 have passed away a few days prior to both having a vaccine with too many parts of the virus. Several weeks have passed and the mouse was still in the normal state, we had finally found the perfect amount of the virus in order for the vaccine to be functioning. We met with government officials and the approval went through for human testing.

I was late in the lab, there was no one else around and I was producing the vaccine for the human trial when I heard a noise coming from the cage of the mouse. He was probably just on the wheel again and I went back to work. I heard the noise once more and I could not help but wonder what was going on. I flicked on the light and the mouse was in fact on the wheel and he stopped and glanced at me with a curious face and went back to the wheel. I flicked the light back off and continued with the vaccine. Nothing out of the ordinary happened. Then, Dr. Johnston and I were working together still on the mice while our colleagues were already doing the human trials of the vaccine in a different part of the building. We heard mouse number 3 make a noise, I assumed it was the wheel again, the noise however made Dr. Johnston irritable and she finally gave in and went to see what the commotion was about. I was leaning over mouse number 4, when Dr. Johnston came out of the room and I heard her weeping. I turned around and she held up a battered up mouse number 3.

"What happened?"

"I'm afraid," She said. "I'm so afraid," she said.

I looked at her for an explanation, "The mouse had killed itself, I came into the room and he was banging against the cage and then he was bleeding and I tried to stop him, but with one last blow, he fell hard and now he's not breathing," she said. The human trials! I ran out of my lab and I threw my gloves unto the floor and I sprinted down through the corridors and I was too late. Subject number 930 was already banging on the bulletproof glass. Her fists were pounding against the glass, horrified I watched. She kept beating her fists against the glass. Her knuckles were bleeding and she kept going, her face grew more and more frustrated, her eyes glared black, her irises were no longer there, but they were replaced with solid black ink color. Her hands were bleeding more and more, the glass was shaking violently. I moved along to the next subject, he was further along than subject 930, he was flailing his arms and he had scars on his back. I watched as he dug his nails into his own skin and he started to pull towards his upper back, he screamed as his skin parted and blood started to rush, he screamed and he put his arms around his ribs and his nails dug in once more into his flesh and he screamed as he pulled on his epidermis. His eyes were black like the girl next to him. He suddenly leapt up to the glass, head first and I jumped a few feet back. I stood against the wall, unable to move closer. Something wet touched my cheek, it was probably that darn leaking pipe again. I wiped it off and more of it tricked on me and in my hair. I touched my head and I regretted what I saw next, it was blood. Blood was on the ceiling. I looked up and there hung the grotesque corpse of my dear friend Dr.Hustly, his beard was drenched in blood, a wire hung around his neck, his skin was blue and his glasses were cracked and a shard of glass was in his left eye a larger piece of it was drilled into his mouth, it hung open and blood was spilling now onto the floor and I noticed there was blood everywhere, I had no idea why I did not notice it before, there were bloody footsteps leading towards the emergency exit. I ran before I could think. I ran and the last observatory had been broken. Shards of bloody glass were laying everywhere. Somebody grabbed my foot and I kicked it away I looked down and it was Dr.O'Mally his face was barely recognizable with blood streaming down him from his eyes and into his mouth, his ears appeared to be sawed off with a piece of glass. The remainder of his ear was a few feet away.

"Beware!" he croaked and I grabbed a piece of glass in my hand, ready to fight whatever was around the corner. I heard fast-moving footsteps. "Beware Doctor!" he said as he choked and took his last breath. I turned the corner and ran into Dr. Johnston.

"Let's get out of here!" I screamed and she merely looked at me and laughed maniacally.

"You should get out!" and she started laughing, she must be traumatized, I thought. She then, out of nowhere plunged a shard of glass into my lower abdomen. "You should get out!" she screeched and I lost my balance. I fell to the floor and then I felt another piercing of pain in my upper back and I heard her laughing. I tried to get up, but she must have immobolized me. I saw a horrifying image of her right before passing out, she had a shard of glass and was sitting in the corridor, stabbing her foot over and over again. She laughed instead of screamed. She laughed as she pegged her feet and bursts of blood came pouring out of her feet and splattered onto my face, she was smiling and laughing and could not feel the pain. As I said, things went horribly and terribly wrong as I drew my last breath.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.