Horror logo

The Demon Within

People are not always what they seem to be

By Patricia HardestyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Hitanshu Patel on Unsplash

I couldn’t move without pain shooting through every part of my body. The man I called my husband had just that morning pulled me from the truck and proceeded to kick me repeatedly, stopping only when I started screaming.

From there, he had drugged me into the trailer we were staying. Freezing cold, I had MRCA in my second toe and I could barely walk. Now, I could breathe. I was sure my ribs were broken.

I lay there. Sucking in air in short, small gasps. I couldn’t lay on my right side because my ribs, I couldn’t lay on my left side because just the night before he had grabbed me by my head and twisted me around so hard I heard as well as felt something rip away from the bone in my shoulder.

Propped up on a makeshift bed made out of old car seats and an old mattress he had drug out of a storage building somewhere. The only heat was coming from a small electric heater.

I could hear him in the living room, right outside my door. Growling and pacing a like bear caged up and starved. The words he was speaking were making no sense to me. They sounded Latin in base but the truth was I could not tell if he was faking or was something wrong.

I was drifting off. It was warm in the small bedroom and the door shut. I still had on all of my cloths and my coat. As long as I did not move or breathe, I was ok. He was moving in there. Good. I could get some sleep.

Damn! I was wrong. I heard the front door smash open. I could hear him growling and cussing me out. Fear gripped my whole body. I began to cry. I knew this was not going to end well. I did not know if he was going to kill me or beat me more. I mean, it was my fault. Not really, I knew that, but every time something went wrong, it was always my fault.

I began to tremble and sweat, which was not good because the pain in my ribs ripped through me and I could not move. I heard him throwing things and glass smashing on the floor. The door burst open and he stood there with a stick.

“You lazy bitch!”

The face was my husband, but the voice was unlike anything I had ever heard. In addition, with those words he jabbed a long stick into my side repeatedly while saying, “Lazy, no good bitch. Make me do everything wile you lay there doing nothing!”

I could not breathe, I could not move. All I could do is lay there and cry and beg him to stop, which seemed to piss him off even more and then he started rapping me in the head with it telling me to shut up. That I deserved this.

He finally left me alone, shutting out the light. I was grateful. The heater began to heat the room back up and I curled in as much as I could. The only way to get my left arm up was to place my hand on my head and bring it up that way. I tried to get the blanket around me and under me so I could stay propped up but the pain kept radiating through every inch with every movement. I wanted to cry and scream, but I had to keep it in and not make him mad.

I must have slept because when I came to, I had rolled over into a position I knew I could not have gotten into awake, and the pain was so bad. I made a noise and instantly regretted it. I heard him cuss and get up in the living room.

I did not know what was coming. Then I heard my husband.

“Baby, what is happening?”

Tears streamed down my face. He sounded so lost, so weak. I managed to get to my feet, pain blurring my vision along with the tears. I had to draw my air in with small gasps. I opened the door and he said, “Get my bible! Get my bible!”

Therefore, I crawled across the bed, pulled it out of the closet, and brought it to him. He fell on top of it and started writhing around and making these strange noises.

All I could think was I did not know if he was faking or if it was real, but this was my chance.

We lived in a very small town jus t outside of Branson. There was no one for miles and it was so cold. However, I ran out into the road and I started running, with my toe busted open, ribs burning, shoulder in pain, I ran, with a knife in my hand and just screamed. I jumped in front of the first car I saw and begged them to call someone.

I am glad I did, because rite at that moment, he drove by. He saw the cops driving up and left. They questioned me, told me they could not find him. I began to freak out and look around me everywhere.

“He can see me. He is watching me. Please, please, please, please get me out of here.”

Finally, I was in the ambulance on my way to the hospital.

I thought I was safe.

I was wrong……………

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Patricia Hardesty

S

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.