Horror logo

The Curse Of Billy Madison

A Promised Visit From St. Nick’s Infamous Brother.

By Don FeazellePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

“Fight, fight, fight!” The group roared as they watched Billy Madison pin then pummel Dexter Knight. Mr. Rennell broke through the crowd and yanked Billy off Dexter and threw him several feet away.

Mr. Rennell yelled, “Madison, don’t you move.” He kneeled to check Dexter, who lay unconscious. Looking up at Savanna Hartwell, Mr. Rennell barked, “Go get the school nurse.” Savanna took running.

Along with the nurse, Principal White came running out to the schoolyard. When they arrived, The nurse bent down to check Dexter’s vitals. She looked up at Principal White, “We need an ambulance ASAP!” The principal flipped open his phone and dialed the EMS.” Yes, we have an emergency at Chester Lewis Middle School. An unconscious 14-year-old male.”

“Ahah, Ahah.” The principal glanced down at Dexter. He is unconscious and suffered severe head injuries.

“Yes, the boy is bleeding from his nose mouth and ears.”

While Principal White spoke with EMS, the nurse yelled to him, “Dexter is not breathing and has no heartbeat.” She then began CPR.

Billy stood at the edge of the crowd, watching. “Oh, God. I never meant to kill him, only teach him a lesson for hitting me in the face with a snowball.”

Twenty-five Years Later

“Kate lock yourself and BJ in our bedroom. I don’t care how much he argues.” Billy glanced up at the clock. “Ten minutes to midnight. Well, this is the year.”

Billy sat in his recliner with Kate’s shotgun in hand, staring at the front door.

“Margot Knight, a local psychic and rumored practitioner of the dark arts, stood at my sentencing and cursed me, “You stole my baby from me. Upon the fourteenth year of your firstborn son, at one minute after midnight Christmas morn, you will receive a visit. As was my boy’s life, your child’s will be taken.”

Billy had all but forgotten about the curse. One week ago, he received an envelope with only his name on the front. A red wax seal with a strange symbol sealed the envelope. He opened the envelope. It had a raven’s feather and a note written in red. The note:

To William Madison Sr.

Need I remind you of my promise so many years ago? I am at death’s bed even now. Funny all these years of hating you is also my undoing. Yet, I will carry my bitterness to my grave. As promised you will receive a visit. Your visitor will introduce himself upon his arrival. I tell you all because there is nothing you can do to stop him. Call the police, arm yourself, there is nothing you can do. Eyes wide open you will receive your recompense and see my revenge.

Cursed will ye be,

Margot Knight

Billy sat, listening to the clock tick away the minutes. He nervously rubbed the trigger guard. “If this visitation is of the supernatural, will my twelve gauge slug stop this visitor.

After my release, I contacted Ms. Knight. I begged her forgiveness. Not because I feared her threats. But I regretted killing Dexter Knight. I was a stupid kid who lost his temper. I took my rage out on him because my father abandoned mom and me.”

Five minutes to twelve, Billy texted Kate, “Don’t forget to lay a barrier of salt around the room and burn sage.” Though Kate wasn’t entirely on board with supernatural wards, she was a good sport. Recently, old lady Knight spooked her and BJ while they were shopping at Shop-Mart. The old witch walked up to them. She stared straight at BJ while making hand gestures and reciting in what sounded like Latin. After completing her magic, she turned and walked away.

Billy shook his head, “I don’t even know if salt or sage can ward off this kind evil. They did that kind of thing on the old reruns of Supernatural.”

At midnight, Billy set the shotgun down and walked over to open the front door. Then he returned to his seat. One minute after midnight, a cold, icy wind blew snow and ice into the house. A white layer coated every inch of the room. A chill swept through Billy to the bone.

Standing in the doorway stood something conceived in hell. A goat-like head and razor-sharp teeth, the beast had to stand seven feet tall. Fur covered the monstrosity’s thickly muscled body from neck to toe. If not for the head, it could have passed for Big Foot.

The thing smiled, red saliva rolled down its chin. From its gravelly throat hissed, “I am Krampus. I come for William Robert Madison Jr. You can give him over freely or die trying to stop me. One way or another, He is mine.”

Billy stared into the cold dark dead eyes of Krampus. After a moment, he stood and walked over to the beast. Upon reaching Krampus, Billy dropped to one knee. “Now that I know who has come for my only son, I plead with you to take me instead. Billy does not deserve to die for my sins. He is a good kid. I appeal to the Santa Clause that states that Saint Nicholas determines who is naughty or nice.” In my search into evil creatures of Christmas, I stumbled across the lore of Krampus.

Krampus laughed, “Maybe, I will take both of you. Besides, as you can see, my do-gooder brother is not here to invoke the clause.”

Suddenly, Billy and Krampus heard a loud clatter outside. For a moment, the night became as bright as day. Krampus turned with a look of surprise as did Billy, who jumped to his feet to see for himself.

A warm breeze blew down the chimney and out the fireplace. The breeze pushed the frost and snow, coating the room and furniture out the front door. A friendly warmth replaced the icy cold.

Kate and BJ ran down the stairs to investigate the noise and stopped at the foot of the stairs. Kate screamed, “What or who is that Billy!

Krampus opened his mouth wide then let out a guttural ear-piercing screech.

An invisible force pulled BJ toward Krampus. BJ fought the pull by grabbing the banister but was no match for Krampus’ magic. As he reached his father, Billy grabbed the boy, and the force pulled both toward Krampus.

Santa Claus emerged from the fireplace and commanded, “Let the boy go!” The force immediately stopped pulling Billy and BJ toward Krampus.

Santa walked over. Billy and BJ parted. Though much smaller, Santa stood to confront Krampus. “Brother, you work outside the constructs. Despite my total objection to you having a role in Christmas, I abide by these rules. You have no claim over this boy. Since when did you start honoring curses by old witches? Margot Knight is dead. She died three hours ago. I compel you to leave this place and never to return.”

Suddenly a mighty rushing wind blew Krampus out the door. The door closed behind him.

Santa Claus broke the curse of Billy Madison.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.