Horror logo

Short Nightmares

Episode 2: Charity

By Michael CronePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The club was poppin the night I met Julianna. I was rolling, chilling on one of the couches near the bar, enjoying the light show and the light touch of a friend sitting next to me.

I noticed her on the balcony first. We made eye contact. She might have smiled at me. Next I noticed her at the bar. I barely spotted her as the crowd parted but I swear we made eye contact again. It could have been the drugs this time… messing with my head.

Fairly soon I found her again. I watched as she made her way to the dance floor, disappearing into the crowd, sensually gazing in my direction the entire time. My friend had begun to kiss my neck but I was transfixed with the mystery woman. I stood up and made my way to the dance floor. Almost instantaneously she pulled me deeper into the crowd and began to dance with me. She rubbed against my legs and dropped down low, rubbing her hands along my inner thigh as she slid back up to meet my lips.

Before I knew it we were dancing together in a way that was hard to distinguish between normal dancing and sex. The ecstasy was taking hold, so I didn’t care if people were watching. Nobody around us seemed to mind either. Some of them were encouraged by the act. Before long the dance floor was a sweaty mess of people. The mystery woman grabs my hand and pulls me off the dance floor. We head towards the bar. She takes a seat and orders me two shots.

“I’m rolling.” I say, as she begins to massage my legs.

“Can I have some?”

One thing leads to another and now we are fucking in the back of her SUV with the seats down. I must’ve blacked out because I don’t remember going from the bar to the car. Oh, well. I wasn’t complaining. I had her screaming… windows fogged… handprints and sweat… It was primal and raw. As I orgasmed I couldn’t help myself. I lost control. My fangs protruded and I sunk them deep into the mystery woman’s neck. I heard her scream in a different way. My humanity left me. I began to suck her dry. As I finished, I returned to my senses. The car was covered in her blood and the girl was dead. I took a deep breath and wiped the blood from my mouth.

“Ugh, I’m so disappointed in myself.” She would’ve made an incredibly fun vampire. As I exited the car I noticed my high was gone. I shut the door behind me and headed back to the club.

I sat down next to my friend and held my hand out. She placed another two ecstasy pills into it and I swallowed them down. She kissed me a couple times before heading to the bar. I scanned the room and made eye contact with a pretty woman across the way. She smiled at me as I laid back and relaxed on the couch. It played out just like before. She avoided me for a bit but lingered just enough to show her interest. When she disappeared into the crowd I followed her. Compulsion was so easy on these humans. All it took was one quick look and they were yours.

“Hi, I’m Charity.” She said as she leaned in and began to nervously dance with me.

“Nice to meet you, Charity.” I said, as I gazed into her eyes. This had become so easy over the centuries. I’d gotten accustomed to the routine. I didn’t kill them all. Some of them I’d turn, like my friend Julie from the couch. Unfortunately not everyone had the stamina to handle the ride.

As things got hotter, Charity and I made our way to the bathroom. It became intense and passionate right away. Not something I expected from such a timid creature. I picked her up effortlessly and slammed her against the wall. As she wrapped her legs around me I felt her reach down. I thought she was going to unzip my pants, but before I knew what was happening a sharp pain followed by an excruciating burn shot through my body. I glance down and watch as Charity rips the dagger from my diaphragm. She had it hidden in her boot. I felt my heart go cold as the tip had snapped off and remained deep inside my wound. She unwrapped her legs and pushed me away. I collapsed to my knees.

“Specifically designed to break off in the heart. Soaked in Vervain and salt water, so no chance of retaliation.” Charity turned into one of the stalls and reappeared carrying a vest and utility belt. She tosses it on and snaps the belt closed. “You killed my sister you bastard. I’ve been watching you for awhile. The little thing you do to women… it’s disgusting.” All I could do is sit and listen as I slowly died. Dying as a mortal sucked… dying as a vampire sucked worse. “I could spare you and end it quickly but I don’t think I’m going to do that. You’re a monster and you deserve to die as a monster should.”

“So do you.” I managed to spit out along with some black ooze that was now building in my throat. “You’ll kill innocents.” I gasped, trying to play on her humanity.

“None of you are innocent and you never will be. Enjoy the rest of your time dying slowly.” She unclipped two small radiantly glowing grenades from her utility belt. The sunlight burned my face as she withdrew them, adding to my pain. I collapsed to the floor. She steps over me and I listen as her footsteps grow distant. I hear the bathroom door swing open. I use my last bit of effort to roll over just in time to catch the explosion of sunlight as it engulfs the club.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michael Crone

Fiction, Poetry, and everything in between. Hints of life and love. The world we share comes to life within the words of the page. Thank you for taking the time to read. Enjoy <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.