Horror logo

Rebecca - Chapter 3

Only A Matter of Time

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

This is the third chapter to my previously published story "Rebecca" If you haven't read it, you can find it linked below. I am currently in the process of publishing the entire book via KDP, however I have decided to share it here (chapter by chapter) with my Vocal family first because your love and feedback means the world to me. I hope that you enjoy it and will continue to read the following chapters as they become available.

Chapter One - The Ship on the Horizon

Chapter 2 - Romania - A place of morbid nightmares

Only A Matter of Time

The ship struggled amongst the somber waves, and the towering trees hovered above as if they knew my every secret, silently judging, forewarning of every danger and risk afore me.

As I stepped off the ship, the icy chill instantly tore threw me like splinters of shattered glass. The wind was bitter and painful against my skin. I quickly covered my face both for protection and seclusion. I sought for souvenirs and tokens, any indication that Rebecca had been here. The unlit, somber town was unembellished with any trace of her passage.

Overhead the distinct sound of bats clicking, and chirping seized my attention. I was suddenly enswathed with formidable recollections. Rebecca, how she would return to me, smelling of sweet metallic blood. Like a busted vein, like a slaughterhouse, and her red, discolored face. How could I so deeply desire such a merciless predator? A bloodsucking devourer of innocent life. Just as quickly as the vulgar thoughts came to me, I was reminded of my undying passion for this uncontrollable demon.

I had already come to realize that I was under a grievous spell. A devilry that could very well lead to my untimely demise. I only hoped that my death would come from her hands. I drew a long, deep breath. I knew that I was walking straight into my grave, it was merely a matter of time.

The spasmodic moon provided the only light for my journey through the unaccustomed, ghostlike town of Wallachia. Tall, gloomy buildings pointed high into the night sky. The eerie sound of bells tolled far in the distance, sending bone-chilling vibrations through my body. I remained cloaked by the obscured shadows as I ventured further into midtown. The only sign of life was that of my own respiring, slow, careful breaths known only by the misty whiffs lingering above my head.

I was in desperate need of shelter, a place to rest my head until morning arrived. I was but a vagrant in a mysterious, inscrutable land. It was only a matter of time before I was discovered, declared an infiltrator, and put to an agonizing death. I tried to shake the horrors from my head. I was quickly becoming delirious and distraught, more so with each passing moment from both fear and somnolence.

A sudden uproar of loud voices woke me with the early morning light. By following the riled chants, I was led to the center of town where an angry mob had designedly gathered. My eyes fell upon an ill-fated woman bearing the Heretic’s Fork, firmly strapped around her neck. A length of metal with two opposed bi-pronged forks sent trickles of blood down her chest as she struggled frantically to forestall her head from lowering. “Blasphemer! Liar!” the crowd bayed while throwing weighty stones at her head. Each impact sent an appalling thud through the air. I covered my mouth, trying desperately to retain the retch as her long flaxen hair turned to crimson red.

I watched from afar with an incredulous stare as Vlad III spoke to crowd.

“Adelina Corina is blamable of speaking your lord's name in vain. I Vlad the III decline such discourteousness and impertinency. Therefore, this woman who stands before you is hereby sentenced to death. Adelina Corina have you any last words?”

This way of punishment made it impossible for her to speak. I felt a merciful pang in my heart as the defenseless tears poured from her eyes.

Placing his hand on the backside of her head, Vlad administered one quick thrust.

“Allow this varlet to be an example and a warning to all who dare to speak against me!”

With a sanctioned smirk he stepped away, leaving the suffering woman to expire in prolonging pain.

The public execution that I had so unbearably witnessed lingered within my thoughts for the remainder of the day. I was now certain that I was treading upon a dangerous and wicked land. My cherished memories of Rebecca were the only crutch that I had. My only reason for risking such peril. I had done nothing wrong, yet the woman whom I so dearly loved was a villain wanted for murder, for vampirism, for sucking the life out of a multitude of innocent men.

This forbidden realm seemed like a contradiction to reality. I knew in my heart that Rebecca was at home here, amongst those just as evil and morally bad as she was. I could easily foresee her becoming one of Vlad’s most revered mistresses. A lady of the dark, capable of equal iniquity and sin. Yet, I was also aware that her wretched life was worth no value to him. He would find great rapture in destroying her. I prayed for her safeness as I continued my quest through Romania. I had to find her before he did.... It was only a matter of time.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.