Horror logo

Pandemic, or so I thought!

Like no other

By Courtney Sky Published 4 years ago 13 min read
2
Pandemic, or so I thought!
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

The word pandemic you immediately think of COVID-19, SARS or Ebola to name a few but you would never have thought you'd hear of this one, you might have watched movies, TV shows or even read books on this pandemic but never thought it would actually end up happening. Well this is my story of the pandemic that I lived through...

I woke up in the one windowed room I've always woken up in, it was quiet and gloomy, I got out of bed to do my usual routine but this time it was different, something felt off. It was so quite I swear I could hear my thoughts.

I waited a while for one of the nurses to come in and serve my breakfast but I knew no one was coming so I got up and checked the door, to my surprise it was unlocked. Shocked at this point I decided to leave the room to see what was going on.

I wandered the building for quiet some time trying to find a way out, this was a bit hard for me seeing is that I have never been out in the real world my whole life, the only outside I got to see was a little garden that I would spend time in for about an hour everyday and even then there was as roof above my head. After wandering for god knows how long I came to some doors that I hoped was the exit. I hesitated for a second before opening the doors to nothing but empty streets. It was a daunting feeling to walk out into the real world and it being completely silent. I thought to myself is this really what I was missing out from, am I still asleep and this is all an elaborate dream so I pinched myself and that hurt so I knew I was awake. I had always thought that real world was a fun a vibrant place with lots of people around, cars, buses, people waling their dogs or even riding their bikes but there was no one to be seen in any way shape or form.

After walking the streets for a while I noticed that a lot of the houses had all the curtains closed which I thought was strange seeing it was a nice sunny day, there was not a cloud to been seen. I took a longer glance at one of the houses and I noticed that there was some sort of movement inside so I wearily approached the house. I had a funny feeling that I shouldn't go to the front door so I walked around the side of the house and tried to peer into a window and as I looked I saw an eye, thinking it was my own reflection it didn't bother me until it blinked which gave me the biggest fright of my life. I wanted to scream but something deep down inside me told me not to.

I think I passed because I woke up inside tied to a bed, there were three people standing above me staring like they were confused about what I was. I built up some courage and said hello, and there was a sigh of relief as someone said "she's not one of them". I was confused to what they were talking about about so one of the boys explained to me that there are these people who are undead that wonder around aimlessly looking for people to bite, still a bit confused I nodded my like I understood because damn this boy was HOTTT!!!!!!

The boy's name was Hunter, the girls name was Karen and their Dads name was Thomas. My first thoughts on Karen was she seemed like a Bitch and I was right, she would not staring and giving me horrible looks and whenever I would talk to Hunter and she would roll her eyes at me. I knew that she was his sister but it seemed like she wanted to be the only girl in the place. Thomas quietly called team meeting and me being me went to get up forgetting that I was still tied to the bed, Hunter said "I'll untie you when I get back", confused to why I had to wait so I continued to sit on the bed while I waited for that to happen. I tried not to eavesdrop on their conversation but there was one thing that was said that really made my blood boil and it came from that bitch Karen's mouth, she said why don't we just leave her here for the undead to get her, and both Thomas and Hunter said "NOOO!!!" which gave me some relief that at least two of them liked me. The three of them came back into the room and Hunter untied me like he said. He started to pack up some of the stuff in the room into a backpack and I asked him why he was doing so and her replied "we have to move now we've made to much noise and the undead could surround us very soon, so I helped them with the packing up.

Before we left the house Thomas handed me a gun and asked if I knew how to used it, I then cocked it with the safety on obviously and pretended to fire it and then said "yeah I know how to used a gun". He was impressed and said to me you'll be just fine if you stick with us and then off we went. We each carried our own backpack with all the essential items we needed to survive whilst in search of a new place to go. I told the group that we should go back to the place I lived in because they had a huge supply of medical supplies that we needed and didn't have much of, but Thomas said that it most likely had been raided by the rest of the people who worked and lived in the building but I told them that each room had its own medical supply and only the people living in the room and the regular nurse knew how to get into it and I knew my nurse wouldn't have taken any of my supplies because I knew that she wouldn't have wanted me to die even though she left me in the room and didn't bother to wake me up when everything went bad. Karen got pissy that we went back but I told her to "shut the fuck up or I will shove my gun up her ass", Hunter laughed at my comment and kept grabbing supplies. I grabbed a couple boxes of tampons and a few packets of pads and threw them at Karen and said " I think you'll be needing these soon" and she rolled her eyes at me.

We walked for what felt like years to but it was about three days and we came across a warehouse, we scoped the building to make sure there wasn't anyone else living it, we watched the building for a few days just to make sure so that we could move into it safe and sound, we killed any of the undead that we saw, we made sure that we didn't use our guns to stop more of them hearing the gun shot and coming our way. I used a sledgehammer to killed the undead that came for me and the rest of us. On our journey to this warehouse we came across a couple of other groups who we swapped different supplies with and a couple from each group decided to journey with us, we now are a group of six. The three new people were a family of three, John the husband, Mary the wife and their 9 year son Caleb. Caleb was a quite boy and I can understand why but even his mother said that before all this happened he was still very quiet. Hunter has grown to like Caleb and has taught him how to use a silent weapon to kill the undead. John and Thomas get along really well and they work really well as a team to figure out strategies for us to survive. Mary is an amazing cook and she knows how to make a decent meal out of whatever food we can find. Karen doesn't like the new arrivals but I'm not too fussed about Karen she most of the time goes off and does her own thing like finding food and supplies for herself, she doesn't like to share what she finds unless it's to much for to carry then she'll pick what she wants the most and gives us the things she doesn't want. Hunter and I have became really close since meeting each other and I think I'm starting to catch feelings, I've never been in a relationship before let alone be friends with a boy so I'm to scared to ask Hunter if he likes me anymore than friends. As we entered the warehouse we were surrounded by a whole lot of people, they asked us what we wanted and we told them we need a place to stay and survive. The people kept us surrounded for quite sometime as who I thought were the leaders go off and have a discussion. When they came back they said that we can stay in the warehouse with them as long as we pay a price of joining their group and abide by their rules, Thomas and John were pretty cool with the idea of that because then they wouldn't have to worry so much about the group as a whole anymore, they had others that would have more people who had theirs backs as long as those two did the same for everyone else. Mary volunteered to help with the cooking, Karen got forced into helping with cooking, Hunter and I helped with gathering supplies and I also helped with those who needed medical attention. It can be a good thing being locked up in some building all my life because I learnt have to be a doctor, nurse, dentist and I also know how to use a gun and protect myself even though I had never been out in the real world for 18 years.

It has now been three months since setting up base in the warehouse, everything has been running smoothly, there have been a few deaths from people getting bitten, people getting sick and other incidents. One of the residents in the warehouse had a baby so we had to build her a place that was sound proof so no undead would find us or any other people who wanted to take all our supplies. We have made this warehouse pretty much impossible for people to just come along and have a shoot out and take all our stuff. If we see people approaching we ambush them and ask them questions about why they are coming into our warehouse and if we recruit them we keep close eye on them until we know we can trust them because wee had one incident where recruited some new people and we thought that we could trust them and after a week or so they went through all our stuff and stole heaps of our supplies. This was a bad time for us because at that time no one had gone out and done a supply run but luckily we caught the bastards and fed them to the undead.

Hunter and I went out on a supply run today, it was just him and I. I was a little nervous just being out wit him because we hadn't had much time alone with each other since moving into the warehouse. As we walked and were aware of our surroundings we were just chatting about what life would be like if none of this would've happened and whether we would have met each other. I told him that we probably wouldn't since I was never allowed out of that placed I lived in and if I ever talked about getting out they would do horrible things to me. We got to the were we have getting all our supplies for the last god knows how long and noticed that the tunnel our group has been digging and building has been going really well and they have nearly got it done to the point were we can just walk through the tunnel to gather supplies without having to go out and bumping into any unwanted guests. Hunter and I helped with last part of reinforcing the walls and the amazing disguise of the tunnel. Before we gathered all the supplies we could Hunter pulled me over and I thought he was going to talk to me about something but instead he kissed me. I kissed him back which surprised me seeing that was my first kiss, he seemed surprised that I kissed back as well, I don't think he was expecting me to. He then asked me if I wanted to be his girlfriend. I was gobsmacked but I obviously said yes. I couldn't wait to tell the people I befriended from the warehouse but Hunter told me to keep it quiet for a little while so he could tell his dad before anyone else found out. He told me that it might take him a while to do so seeing that his dad told him not to fall in love with me because of the factor that I could get killed or get bitten and his dad doesn't want to have to deal with Hunter losing another person he loved to this horrible pandemic. It took Hunter about two weeks before he told his dad about us and surprisingly he took it really well but Karen on the other hand was fuming. I thought it was really weird for her to be getting mad and jealous about it but at that moment I found out that Karen wasn't Hunter's real sister she was a close family friend that he would call a sister and she was in love Hunter. She came to me one night and told me that I'm a slut and I need to find another man to be with because Hunter is hers and he can't be with anyone else until he falls in love with her so that can be together forever, I told to fuck off and Hunter came into the room as she was saying those things to me and he whispered in her ear "I'll never be with you because it would be like dating my sister and that's incest", Karen looked at him with tears welling up in her eyes and then runs out the room crying. He said "well I don't think she'll be bothering us anymore", I just sat there and laughed.

It now has been two long years and we are still living in the warehouse, our community has largely grown and Hunter and I are still going strong. Karen has found a man that will put up with all her bullshit. Thomas is now the leader of our group and is doing very well John, Mary and Caleb left us with a bunch of others to find more people like us who are trying to build the world back up to what it used to be not that I know what that was like. A couple people in our community have had children and the previous children have started to grow up. Many of community have died serving us, helping us and some have even betrayed us. We have made the warehouse bigger and built a wall around it so that the undead and wanders can't just walk in and take us all out. I have learnt a lot about what the world used to be like and what it may turn out like when all this is over.

To Be Continued......

fiction
2

About the Creator

Courtney Sky

Just bored in quarantine

Go follow my Instagram's

Vocal account: https://www.instagram.com/co.urtney8775/

Main account: https://www.instagram.com/courtnxysky/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.